Sensual Highlights for the Week of March 20, 2022

It’s the last week to respond to the Spring Writing Prompt

Elle Beau ❇︎
Sensual: An Erotic Life
3 min readMar 20, 2022

--

Image Licensed from Adobe Stock

What is listed below are just a few of our favorite submissions from the past week. Be sure to check out all the wonderful offerings from our talented writers and see which stories are trending on the main Sensual page.

Today is the Vernal Equinox, so Spring is officially here. Between now and Saturday, March 26, 2022, write a poem or an essay that tells us about emerging, sending out new shoots, or flowering in some way in your erotic life. This means anything that is new or that you are considering adding. Use the Kicker, Spring Writing Prompt. Our favorite submissions will be featured in the March 27th newsletter.

💋
Elle

Essays 🧠

The ‘Erosworker’ Who Teaches Sex Workers to Value Their Jobs More by Mysterious Witt
Sex work isn’t valued as a legitimate career choice. Unfortunately, this too often leads the provider to look down on herself.

Hannah Heart, an “erosworker” and mentor, doesn’t think it needs to be this way. She’s out to change the sex-work landscape by coaching cis-gender female sex workers on how to find more value in their work — and ultimately, in themselves.

Can You Call Yourself Bisexual When You’ve Not Had That Kind of Sex? by Damian Delune
The look on his face when he realized what he’d said almost broke my heart. I didn’t know what to say. He was my best friend and although I didn’t understand myself enough at the time to express my feelings for him, I knew I wasn’t mature enough nor strong enough to tell the world, yes, I wanted to be his boyfriend, too.

How We’ve Limited Men’s Ability to Experience Sexual Pleasure to the Fullest by Yael Wolfe
Don’t misunderstand me. I’m not shaming. Or blaming. On the contrary, I want to advocate for you in this area.

It seems silly to say that, considering the sexual privilege afforded to men in this culture, but there are some issues that I think are robbing you of what you deserve in the bedroom.

Here’s what I’m talking about:

You Can Just Say No, He Said by Ena Dahl
If you’ve never been a woman in this world, you may not have had to second-guess your no. You probably never have had to think twice about whether your no could get you in trouble, perhaps even assaulted, or worst case, killed.

Just say no. You make it sound so easy.

I wish you were right.

So, What Kind of Non-monogamous Are You, Exactly? by Demeter Delune
Recently, there’s been a lot of pushback on labeling anything non-monogamous as ‘ethical’ and I have to agree. Unless those of you who identify as monogamous are willing to add ethical in front of monogamy, I don’t see why we in the non-monogamy camp should have to justify our relationships up front by adding the moniker.

Just because we may or may not involve others in our bedrooms and romantic endeavors doesn’t mean we’re inherently unethical.

Poetry 🧝‍♀️

Bare Thighs Thawing by Danielle Loewen
curious & inquiring
coy & cat-like
~ purring with impertinence ~
impudent
& indolent

How Badly I Want You by Kayla Ramos
My heart goes crazy inside my chest
When I think about the things I want to do to you
I can’t make it stop, but maybe I don’t want to

Black Forest Donut Jelly & Cream by Lindsay Soberano-Wilson
Like the girl next door
who leaves you longing for more.

--

--

Elle Beau ❇︎
Sensual: An Erotic Life

Social scientist dispelling cultural myths with research-driven stories. "Thinking is difficult, that’s why most people judge." ~ Carl Jung