11 !

WHAT HAPPENED TO SOFT-SPOKEN RADHA?

How people change with time!

Pravin Shekar
The Outlier Marketer

--

Taking “meta” to another level !

WHAT HAPPENED TO SOFT-SPOKEN RADHA?

Radha was throwing a temper tantrum, the likes of which I had not seen. Neither those around her.

And boy, did they react to it? Each of them ran in different directions to follow her instructions and get things done. Pronto!

Radha stood there, hand on her hips, pouted lips on angry rosy cheeks, exhaling slowly — as if that would help cool her and the situation down.

Radha, my classmate from school. Pretty, dainty, petite, but always up there in front. Studies, sports, or volunteering, Radha would be the first to sign up.

When you study with someone for years, an unspoken bond is formed. It was the same with Radha and me.

Some years, we were in the same class — others, in different sections. Ours was a small school, and so we had to bump into each other often. We acted together in a few school plays as well.

Radha and I had a connection. Not in a romantic way, but pretty platonic. Thinking about her smile cheered me up. And she would smile at me from across the ground.

Completing school was bitter-sweet. The opening up of new experiences was scary and exciting at the same time.

Promises were made to stay in touch and swap notes.
Promises soon forgotten in the din of new friends, environment, and challenges.

We did try for some time, though. Those were the days of letters and posts. We wrote to each other for a while. It slowly dwindled to a trickle before….. “out of sight, out of mind” happened.

And so Radha and I lost touch. For years. Each had our own paths, loves, families, friends, mortgages……. life.

I started my consulting practice and traveled around in due course, helping CEOs and companies get their marketing act in order. Sometimes to shake it up.

I was invited to Delhi to meet the management team of a company that wanted to hire me as a consultant.

The above scene of Radha happened in the office’s reception area as I was entering it. I stood there, near the entrance, watching. Slowly the realisation hit me that this was my Radha from school. She hadn’t changed much physically though a touch of middle-age was cropping in. Her behaviour, though, was something way out of character of the old Radha (of mine, I may add).

Radha stood there, fuming. The receptionist ran up to her with a bottle, and Radha gulped it down at one go. The receptionist gestured for me to take a seat. Radha swung around to see who this intruder was.

She stared at me first. This was followed by a puzzled expression which slowly turned into the realisation of who I was. Magically, there was a smile as she rushed up to give me a bear hug. My my, Radha, had changed! Back where we studied, “touching” was limited to a handshake. She took a step back while holding my shoulders and kept grinning. This was followed by another hug.

Radha turned around to the receptionist and said, whatever he is here for, shift it by thirty minutes. I am taking him out for tea. Radha dragged me, by hand, to the cafeteria, and we sat down. I still hadn’t said a single word. I was grinning away as well, and my head was in a cloud, unable to process all this information.

Do note, O reader, there was no romantic relationship with Radha, ever. However, when you do meet a friend from those long-lost days, it is as if some of that magic is back in your life.

Radha signaled for two teas, and they appeared immediately. Radha wanted to know it all. What I had been up to? How did I marry? Why was I here?

I gave single sentence answers and couldn’t say anything else, as the questions kept pouring from her.

After a full ten minutes, she leaned back and tapped my hand. So, don’t you have any questions?

Of course, I did, but in moments like these, the brain works slower than the tongue, so I blurted out……

Whatever happened to the soft-spoken Radha I knew?

Radha laughed. What a laugh! She laughed till there were tears in her eyes. I sat there with a goofy look, waiting for an answer.

She replied…….. Sheks, there are moments when you HAVE to show your demonic side — to nudge people to get things done. Just that once in a while so they know that when things aren’t done, the volcano will erupt.

That was my volcano moment, and you couldn’t have timed your entry better.

You have changed as well. You’ve gone bald, have a big mustache…. And clearly look your age. See, me being direct is also a change!

I am sure you will have lots of questions. Finish your meeting quickly. I am taking you home for dinner with my family — and you can ask as much as, and whatever you want.

**

To warn people, a snake needn’t bite, but it sure should HISSSSS.

As a marketer/entrepreneur, even your HISSES need to be planned to achieve the desired result.

Your hissingly,

Pravin “Sheks” Shekar.

**

Maybe you have to lose it sometimes to get people to take you seriously
Jennifer Aniston
The Morning Show

**

All stories in this “52” series:
1. The Cycle Wheel
2.
The strong polish their fangs and the weak….
3.
Expectations
4.
Connecting through
5.
What happens to nice guys?
6.
If you want something in life…..?
7.
Growth: How did she do it?
8.
What light do you use for your meetings?
9.
When would you fire yourself?
10.
The Domino effect

Pravin Shekar is an outlier marketer, parallel entrepreneur and a raconteur.

mic @ PravinShekar.com

For creative collusions, join: http://bit.ly/JoinMyOutlierTribe

Pravin is the author of eight books: http://tiny.cc/PravinShekarBooks

Devil Does Care, Marketing lessons from The Art of War, Marketing lessons from Mythology, Getting paid to speak, a Virtual Summit Playbook, Climb your way out of hell, a collection of travel pics/romantic poems, and stories from the heart!

#Marketing #Entrepreneur #Awareness #Strategy #Outlier #Outliermarketing #micromarketer #idea #tribe #Books #krux108 #PravinShekar #OutlierPravin

--

--