Remember What Happened Yesterday?

Jerome K.
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
4 min readMay 26, 2024

ā€œDidnā€™t I just get here?ā€

Here I am writing about my graduation (for the third timešŸ˜†). If you want to read my other stories on the lessons I have gotten from that special day, there will be links at the bottom of this essayā¬‡ļøā¬‡ļø

Graduation dayā€¦my memories and emotions still linger. From hearing my name being called out, lively trumpets and applause. To proudly walking down the red carpet wearing a blue toga and restlessly moving around in order to hear the medals CLANK~

Photo by Vasily Koloda on Unsplash

How does anyone move on from their graduation day?

To me, it is a core memory etched into the deepest parts of my mind and more importantly, my heart.

As I look backā€¦it has been two weeks ago.

Despite my best to recall those memories, the feeling of being in that day slowly fadesā€¦

Thatā€™s when I decided to flip through my other memories in high school.

Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

Looking back to my time in high school, it was indeed a hurried experience.

I cannot recall everything that I did

and it saddens me that my memories seem to just fly away like dust.

That got me thinking, ā€œhow much do I really remember my life!!??ā€

That was when it dawned on me that time was moving so fastā€¦TOO FAST

I cannot even RECALL what I did yesterday.

On this day, I write here some of the things I WISHED I did to savor the time and truly live to capture every moment possible.

Get a Camera

Photo by Nicolas Ladino Silva on Unsplash

Even if I cannot remember every moment, at least I will be able to save it inside a picture.

Most people including I, do not take enough pictures. Before today, I only took pictures of really important events but little did I knowā€¦

that taking even just one picture a day, can make you remember everything that happened ON THAT DAY.

Taking pictures turns into a way of documenting oneā€™s life.

Does a cellphone camera work No, it does notā€¦

For me, our modern age simply shows that everybody has a cellphone. It has become too ā€œnormalā€ and taking pictures every single day will likely be forgotten if you are not committed.

Having a camera šŸ“øšŸ“ø instead will force you to take pictures as it is a physical object whose sole purpose is to capture the moment (we wouldnā€™t want our moneyā€™s worth not used right?)

Practicing Mindfulness

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

As what Iā€™ve come to know, there are people born with the unique skill to live in the present.

Not everyone has it but we all could learn it through the art of mindfulness.

There are tons of apps, online workshops, and local community events geared towards practicing mindfulness but to me, itā€™s all about just taking a brief moment to look around you.

Going back to when I was in high schoolā€¦

There was a time I tried this because a friend of mine showed me how. What she told me was to:

Slowly look around the roomā€¦take note of the people.

Breath the airā€¦take note of the smell.

Listenā€¦take note of all the noise and all the silences.

Feelā€¦take note of the chairā€™s texture, the walls, or the black board.

To this day, I can still recall the moment I had done that.

Here I am encouraging you to do the same, as taking a brief moment (it wonā€™t even take five minutes of your time) can help you recall memories forever.

Enjoy!!

Photo by Madison Oren on Unsplash

On an ending note, have fun!! Laughing and enjoying the time you spend every single day will not only help you remember it but also make it something worth remembering. That is what Iā€™ve learned.

--

--