Day #11 — Documenting the Journey to $10k/mo

Adam Dukes
3 min readMay 26, 2017

--

Not me — a stock image from Unsplash

This is a LIVE case study where I am documenting my journey to becoming a highly paid marketing consultant by blogging everyday for 50 consecutive days. It’s called “50 Days to Freedom: My Journey to 5 Figures in 50 Days“. At the end of the post, you will find links to all the previous days.

Earlier today I was browsing a Facebook group and came across a comment from a guy who is documenting his journey building a marketing agency.

His goal is to generate $20,000 per month in 90 days.

Within 30 minutes of reading a couple of his posts, I started doing the same thing, on Medium, but becoming a highly paid marketing consultant.

My goal being $10,000 per month in 50 days. I started documenting the journey today, and published 10 posts here on Medium.

You can read his journey here, and he deserves the credit for the challenge I am doing.

Now, I got started prospecting on May 15th, so I backtracked my documentation starting from that date, as that’s when I truly started.

It was extremely time consuming as I published TEN posts on here today (links to each at the bottom of this post).

I look forward to doing this daily moving forward. Now that it is published online, I have a new sense of urgency, a hotter fire burning in my belly, a drive to smash this goal.

Amazing what happens when you make something public.

I understand the fire burns when starting a project like I did today. The difficult part is on day #43 and continuing moving forward.

Like everything else in life, I am going to take it one day at a time.

A Day if the Life of a Dadprenuer, ep #18

I started doing these videos a couple weeks ago, and have a lot of fun doing it. I will share the daily video here in these posts, to show you that starting a business while raising kids, is certainly possible.

Juggling kids and a business takes self-discipline, which I have got pretty good at over the last 7 years.

Of course, I there is always room for improvement. You have to audit your day, and see what you can eliminate. And there is a lot you can eliminate, I promise.

I rarely watch TV, unless it’s live sports. I usually relax on Fridays nights and watch Dateline, but that is about it.

I am up at 5:15 and in bed around 10:30ish.

One of my absolute favortite quotes around this topic is…

Entrepreneurship is living a few years of your life like most people won’t, so that you can spend the rest of your life like most people can’t.”

Put in the work now, make the sacrifices, and thank me later.

Here is yesterday’s short video…

A Day if the Life of a Dadpreneur

Day #11 Breakdown

Today, I emailed CrossFit gyms in North & South Carolina with the free 10 day trial of Facebook advertising I have been using, as that seems to be working well for me.

Day #11 Numbers

Emails Sent: 44

Sales Calls: 0

Facebook Posts: 2

Leads Generated: 1

Committed Trial Offers: 0

Proposals Sent Out: 1

Revenue Generated: $0

If you’re getting value from any of these posts, please share with a friend.

If you have comments and/or suggestions, please leave a comment below!

Last, but certainly not least: Thank you so much for reading, it means more than you know!

Follow along: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, Day 8, Day 9, Day 10

--

--

Adam Dukes

A stay-at-home-Dadpreneur, a marketing strategist, a cheeseburger connoisseur and a wastebucket full of useless sports knowledge.