Community Highlight #13, Ryan

Alephium
3 min readSep 15, 2023

--

Regularly, we put the spotlight on an active member of the Alephium community. This is an opportunity to showcase their contributions to the ecosystem, what drives them and what they are passionate about! More episodes: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11 and #12.

He is an engineer and family guy who was impressed with Alephium tech. Always helpful in Discord and actively promoting Alephium on Twitter. You know this about Ryan, but there is a lot more, and we tell you here!

What can we call you, and where should we picture you?

I’m a simple person; you can call me Ryan because that is my name ;)

Tell us about yourself/your persona

I am an engineer for my day job. I.e., why my discord handle is “Ryannn”. I try to understand everything logically/literally. I have a young family, my wife and I just had our first child ~6 months ago.

How did you find out about Alephium?

I learned about Alephium in Feb 2022 when GPURisers uploaded a YouTube video on Alephium / how to mine it. From there, I joined the Alph discord / and continued to read & follow the project.

What excites you about Alephium?

I have participated in the crypto space since ~2017. When actively investing in projects, I strive to find projects that meet two criteria: #1 amazing tech and #2 a transparent core team. What excites me about Alephium? While it’s easy to find many projects with great tech or a transparent team, it is incredibly rare to find both attributes in my experience. I believe Alephium is solving a real-world problem with its tech, and it's only a matter of time before the masses understand what Alephium has to offer.

What excites you about the future of Alephium?

Community devs / dapps! I can’t wait to watch the Alephium ecosystem explode! It’s already starting with Ayin (first community DEX), and I know of at least 2 users in Discord building an NFT Marketplace.

How do you contribute to the Alephium ecosystem?

I am not a technical person/dev. I try to contribute by spreading the word about Alephium on Twitter / staying active in Discord to welcome new users / answer questions.

What do you like to do in your free time?

I pride myself that I enjoy learning — whether it's finance stuff or engineering-related topics where I try to understand how something works, I really try to embrace an “always learning” mentality.

Any hobbies?

Both my wife and I are family-oriented. If we aren’t doing “family” activities at the lake, travelling, hiking etc. I enjoy hunting & riding my dirt bike. I used to race motocross competitively (in my younger days; I'm not a professional). Now, I enjoy recreational riding on trails with friends & family.

This concludes #13 of the community highlights. Thank you, Ryan, for sharing your passion with the Alephium community and contributing all across!

We’ll return with another episode of the community highlights in October 2023! Meanwhile, you can follow Alephium on Github, Twitter. Join the conversation on Discord, Telegram or Reddit.

--

--

Alephium

Scalable for devs. Secure for users. Decentralized for all.