Grounded…

Doline
13 min readMar 1, 2023

--

… not by my parents, but by life. I’ve always been a traveler, thanks to my mum mainly who’s always been telling her children amazing stories about her travels. During these years of travel, I kept a dairy of my daily life; I have, nowadays, 8 of them. Some are completely full, some others only a few pages are written.

Now, I work a job three days a week, allowing us to survive; I can’t complain. But traveling has become harder, because of the lack of time. I could take a plane, go somewhere for four days, come back to work. But, because of my beliefs regarding environmental issues, I can’t. I just can’t. So, here I am, “en train de ronger mon frein” as we would say in French, frustrated about it.

Today, my brain started once again finding a million things to do (latest tracks of my brain: raise insects, buy a cabin in the woods, start uni, study German, become a physiotherapist, work in publishing, read all the Rougon Maquart, find a job, find another job, find my way, exercise, learn to cook, learn to dance, etc. My brain is exhausting. Raise your hand if yours is the same).

Where was I ?

Oh yeah, so, what if, instead of never doing anything about all my previous travels, I started to maybe show part of it to myself and whoever would like to follow me along the journey?

And, because getting from point A (the start) to Z (the end?) was way too complicated (when does it actually start? will it end?), I decided to go zigzagging.

Here is how: Every day, I will choose randomly one of the books. I will open it while closing my eyes. And I will publish what’s on the page. I will translate it in English, find a picture that goes with it, maybe a song, or a quote. Depending of what that page will call out of my memory. Be prepared, I was listening to a lot of French music.

We are the 1st of March 2023, it’s gray outside.

Let’s start.

All of the posts:

--

--