List of Articles

Orlando G. Bregman
7 min readDec 18, 2016

--

Santa Monica, 1998
Venice Beach 2016, Revisting the Past for my Documentary ‘THE QUEER CASE FOR INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS: From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented.’ (2016)

Resume/FILM BIO: Gabriella Bregman (2018) (2018)

FILM BIO: Gabriella Bregman (2016)

The Queer Case for Individual Rights & Other Essays (2019) (2018)

2018 Update on Documentary ‘The Queer Case for Individual Rights’ (2018)

Queer Female Filmmakers Los Angeles: A Media Site for Queer Female Filmmakers in Los Angeles (2018) (2018)

Queer Female Filmmakers Los Angeles: A Media Site & LA Film Mixers (2018) (2018)

QUEER FEMALE FILMMAKERS LOS ANGELES: A Media Site & LA Filmmixers (2018) (2018)

Film Organization QUEER FEMALE FILMMAKERS LOS ANGELES (2018)

John Cassavetes Film Retrospective (2001) (2018)

My 2018 Oscar Pick for Best Picture (2018)

On ‘Moonlight’ and the Subject of Positive Representation (2017)

A Note on the State of Women in Film (2016)

A Few Notes On LGBTQ Filmmaking (2017)

Some Thoughts on the State of Lesbian Filmmaking in the US (part 1 of 5) INTRO (2018)

Some Thoughts on the State of Lesbian Filmmaking in the US (part 2 of 5)(2018)

Some Thoughts on the State of Lesbian Filmmaking in the US (part 3 of 5) LGBTQ FILMS/ INFLUENCES (2018)

Some Thoughts on the State of Lesbian Filmmaking in the US (part 4 of 5) The Crucial Importance of Trans-/ Gender Nonconforming Visibility and Representation In My Youth (2018)

Some Thoughts on the State of Lesbian Filmmaking in the US (part 5 of 5) CONCLUSION (2018)

Some Thoughts on the State of Lesbian Filmmaking in the US (part 1–5) (2018) (Original Article in its’ Entirety.)

The 2016 Valentine’s Day Filmmakers Manifesto (2016)

My Me Too Story: From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented (2017)

The Queer Case for Individual Rights: From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented (2015)

In Defense of Rationality (2018)

In Defense of Individual Rights (2018)

A Brief Update on my Documentary Feature (2017)

An End of 2017 Update on Feature Documentary ‘The Queer Case for Individual Rights’ & 2018 Plans for a ‘Queer Women Filmmakers Magazine’ (2017)

An End of the Year Update on my Projects; My Feature Documentary, & the 2018 Plans for a ‘Queer Women Filmmakers Magazine’ (2017)

Scenes of Idolatry and Resentment (2004) (2004)

Film Production Company Bregman Films, Los Angeles (2016)

My name is Gabriella Bregman, I am a Hollywood-based Writer, Filmmaker and Producer, currently in production of a Feature Documentary about LGBTQ US-Immigration Exclusion-Policy, including my personal story of US Immigration as an International Film Student from the Netherlands during DOMA, (Defense Of Marriage Act, of 1996–2015,) titled ‘The Queer Case for Individual Rights,’ through my film production company Bregman Films.

The 2001 John Cassavetes Film Retrospective ‘Gena and John: A Cassavetes Retrospective’ at the Laemmle Theatres in Los Angeles is a Bregman Films Production.

I also am the Founder of the Nonprofit Film Organization Queer Female Filmmakers Los Angeles.

I identify as a Gender Nonconforming Lesbian, “non-op” Trans-Masculine, and Bi-Racial, from the Netherlands, Los Angeles-based.

My pronouns are: they/them/theirs.

I sometimes go by Orlando, as in Orlando Gabriella Bregman, (in a nod to Virginia Woolf.)

Some people have known me as Gabie, and some people just claim to have known me.

Immigration Law Explained: The Irony of a Simultaneously Capped (temporary work visas) and Uncapped (family law marriage) Visa Immigration System (2014)

A Few Notes on US Immigration Exclusion Policies Towards Women- and LGBT Immigrants (2014)

The DOMA Victims Act for Legal Entries (2016)

How 3 immigration/marriage-related laws worked in combination with each other to make me “illegal” in the U.S. (2016)

The Immigration Marriage Fraud Act of 1986 Must Go Down (2015)

Los Angeles, 2018
Los Angeles, 2017

(Note: This article was originally published on Sept. 12 2016 as ‘Gender Binary System notes.’ It was written as a loose set of notes on the gender-binary as an exclusive system, and its’ limitations, rather than as a cohesive article or essay. I have broken the article up in 7 parts, with 7 different titles, for your reading convenience.)

Gender Binary System notes (2016) (Original Article in its’ Entirety)

The Root Cause Of Misogyny, And The Necessity Of Free Will (Gender Binary System notes, part 1 of 7) (2016)

The Male And Female Brain, And “The Cause” Of Transgenderism (Gender Binary System notes, part 2 of 7) (2016)

The Reasons I Am Not Transitioning (Gender Binary System notes, part 3 of 7) (2016)

How My Gender Nonconforming Identity Affected My Legal Immigration Status (Gender Binary System notes, part 4 of 7) (2016)

My Pronouns: They/Them/Theirs (Gender Binary System notes, part 5 of 7) (2016)

On Looking Androgynous Throughout My Youth, While Also Being Gender Nonconforming (Gender Binary System notes, part 6 of 7)

The Gender-Binary System Was Created For Population Control And Slavery, Including Sex Slavery (Gender Binary System notes, part 7 of 7)

In Production of LGBTQ Immigration Documentary ‘THE QUEER CASE FOR INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS: From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented’ (Los Angeles, 2016)

The Problem and Solution to Illegal Immigration in the US (part 1–3)(2017) (Original Article in its’ Entirety)

Or you can read the Article in 3 Parts by Clicking on the 3 Links Below:

The Problem and Solution to Illegal Immigration in the US (part 1 of 3)(2017)

The Problem and Solution to Illegal Immigration in the US (part 2 of 3)(2017)

The Problem and Solution to Illegal Immigration in the US (part 3 of 3)(2017)

The US Problem Referred to as Capitalism (2017)

School Letter of Admission in the Film Program at Los Angeles City College, 1992. Necessary for my 5-Year International Student Visa. (Ironically My Student Visa Expired The Exact Same Day Ellen DeGeneres Came Out On Her TV Sitcom on April 30, 1997.)
In Production of LGBTQ Immigration Documentary ‘THE QUEER CASE FOR INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS: From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented’ (Los Angeles, 2016)

Becoming Undocumented: Getting My Status and Identity Back After DOMA’s Demise (2015)

(‘Becoming Undocumented: Getting My Status and Identity Back After DOMA’s Demise’ has been republished in 5 Parts as ‘From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented,’ with the Backstory ‘My Life in The Netherlands Before Immigrating to The US in 1992’ in 2 Parts.

Together the 7 Parts make up the Feature Narrative of ‘The Queer Case for Individual Rights: From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented,’ and form the basis for a Feature Documentary by the same name. Click on the Title Link for a Brief Summary.

All other LGBTQ-Immigration Articles were written as Supplemental Information.

And all Film Articles with were written primarily for my own enjoyment, and mainly serve to highlight the lack of female visibility in film, both aesthetically and to do with female perspective, and professionally, to do with the existing gender wage gap and with hiring discrimination practices.)

Los Angeles, 2017
Los Angeles, 2018

My Life in The Netherlands Before Immigrating to The US in 1992 (part 1 of 2) (2015)

My Life in The Netherlands Before Immigrating to The US in 1992 (part 2 of 2) (2015)

From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented (part 1 of 5) (2017)

From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented (part 2 of 5) (2017)

From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented (part 3 of 5) (2017)

From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented (part 4 of 5)(2017)

From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented (part 5 of 5) (2017)

Film Production Office for Feature Documentary ‘The Queer Case for Individual Rights’ Los Angeles 2016
In Production of LGBTQ Immigration Documentary ‘THE QUEER CASE FOR INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS: From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented’ (Los Angeles, 2016)

The ‘I Came Here Legally and Paid My Taxes Act for DOMA Overstayers’ (2016)

Undocumented While Legal (2016)

40% of the 11 Million Undocumented Immigrants Entered the US Legally (2017)

Just about all women sell each other out. Women have to do better, and men even more. (2016)

My love for film, and what Meryl Streep’s speech at the 2017 Golden Globes meant to me as a foreign filmmaker in Hollywood (2017)

On California Being the Future of the US, From a Dutch Perspective (2017)

Me and my typewriter, West Los Angeles 1994
First Steady Apartment in LA. West Los Angeles 1994, The Year and Place I Came Out as Lesbian.

All Articles Written by Gabriella Bregman (TM). All Pictures Owned by Gabriella Bregman (TM). All Rights Reserved (2016)

The Narrative Manuscript and Feature Documentary The Queer Case for Individual Rights: From International Film Student to Queer and Undocumented,’ as well as my LGBTQ Immigration Articles and Novelette/Long Poem ‘Scenes of Idolatry and Resentment,’ were Inspired by Zoe.

All my Writings are Dedicated to my Parents, Abraham (Bram) Bregman, (R.I.P. 1934 - 2015) and Gertrude (Truus) Bregman.

And to M. Luza.

And Zoe.

I also give Special Thanks to my great aunt H. Van Der Sluis, without whose money I would not have been able to maintain “a room of my own,” to paraphrase Virginia Woolf, and so privacy and time to write all these articles.

Finally, Selected Articles will in time be Self-Published in Book Form.

If you enjoyed this Article, please recommend it by Clapping on the Button at the bottom of the page, or share in your Social Media, or both.

Passport of the Netherlands, with 5-Year Student Visa, 1992.
On Vacation in Rimini, Italy, 1975. My Mother and Father, R.I.P. (1934–2015,) and Me.
My Parents Visiting Me In Hollywood, 2003. (The Last Time I Saw Them In Person Out Of A Few Times Throughout My 26 Years In Los Angeles.)

--

--

Orlando G. Bregman

Essay Writer TRANS-MASCULINE IN HOLLYWOOD/Documentary Filmmaker F-1 DUTCH FILM STUDENT/Founder THE AUTEUR Film And Identity Publication & Film Org (2024) TM