[Day 11] Daily UX Writing Challenge: Meta Description for Selling Contact Lenses

Melanda Utari
3 min readSep 22, 2022

--

Scenario: An elderly user is doing a Google search to find an easy way to buy contact lenses online.

Challenge: Write a title and meta description for a website that sells subscription contact lenses delivered to a user every 30 days — convince them to try it.

Title: 60 characters max

Meta description: 160 characters max

Gathering The Context

Uhm, honestly, it’s my first time crafting a copy for Google Metadata. So, I’m not really sure how the copy will be, but give me a shot!

Based on Beginner’s Guide to Writing Metadata by Charlotte Bowers, meta title which specifies the main title of the webpage should include keywords as close to the beginning of the title as possible, and end the title with the website name, for branding purposes.

On the other hand, the meta description which appears below the title in the metadata should inform the summary of webpage the content. It has to encourage users to click the web and keywords should be included. To avoid keyword stuffing and making duplicate content, make sure to include different keywords from the meta title.

I analyze the brief, and here is the information I got:

  • Users target: elderly
  • Meta title and description of the website
  • Offered product and service: contact lenses, subscription every 30 days

Crafting The Copy

Jual soflen minus murah bisa custom ukuran dan COD || Lens101

Dapatkan softlen minus murah, bisa beda ukuran kanan kiri, dan banyak pilihan warna. Bisa diantar tiap 30 hari dan pembayaran COD. Ayo pesan sekarang!

Rationalization

First, I conducted a mini-research to decide on the keywords used for the copy. Using Google Trend, I found out that “soflen” is the most popular keyword besides “softlens” and “lensa kontak”. The criteria for this analysis were Indonesia area, the most popular keywords for 30 days ago, and for web search use. This main keyword will be used both on the meta title and meta description.

To decide on another keyword for delivery service, I tried several keywords on Google Trend with the same criteria as before. The word “COD” and “delivery” is more preferable to “diantar”. I assumed that the store also provides the payment method of cash on delivery, so I’ll go with this keyword.

For the meta title, I used the main keywords which were “soflen” and “COD”. I mentioned the product advantages, such as low price and customize the size of the lenses. There I also added the store name for branding purposes.

On the meta description, I encourage users to get the contact lenses and promote the product advantages. Here I also used the keywords of “soflen” and “COD”, and gave detailed info about the customized sizes of the lenses users can buy different sizes for left and right lenses, and also various colors available. The main service of monthly subscription was also added on the next sentence. Last, I suggest users to order the contact lenses now.

Final Copy

Thanks for reading. I’d be happy if you were willing to give me some feedback. Let’s connect through LinkedIn!

Also, check this out!

| Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5 | Day 6 | Day 7 | Day 8 | Day 9 | Day 10 | Day 11 | Day 12 | Day 13 | Day 14 |

--

--