[Day 3] Daily UX Writing Challenge: Wrong Email Address

Melanda Utari
2 min readSep 22, 2022

--

Scenario: The user entered the wrong email address to sign in to their account.

Challenge: Tell the user to enter the right email

40 characters max

Editor’s note: YES this is a REAL prompt from a real ‘content challenge’ from a REALLY big and intelligent company. You’ve used their product before, trust me.

Crafting The Copy

Copy 1

Email Anda salah. (Format: xxx@mail.com)

Copy 2

Email salah. Gunakan format xxx@mail.com

Rationalization

It’s an error message, so I’ll make a short copy that tells users what’s happening and the action they can take. Here I assumed that the tone was formal so I crafted those two copies. Both inform users about the wrong email address and include the correct format to follow.

From those two options, I’ll go with the first since it was more interactive than the second.

Final Copy

Thanks for reading. I’d be happy if you were willing to give me some feedback. Let’s connect through LinkedIn!

Also, check this out!

| Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5 | Day 6 | Day 7 | Day 8 | Day 9 | Day 10 | Day 11 | Day 12 | Day 13 | Day 14 |

--

--