[Day 2] Daily UX Writing Challenge: Promotional Screen for Sport Apps

Melanda Utari
2 min readSep 22, 2022

--

Scenario: A user is a working parent, and a big sports fan, in the midst of their favorite sports season who can no longer attend games.

Challenge: Write a promotional screen for an app that lets a user choose teams, sends game reminders, real-time score updates, and highlight videos.

Headline: 40 characters max

Body: 175 characters max

Button(s): 25 characters max

Gathering The Context

Since it’s a promotional screen, I assumed that it would be appeared in the ads in between applications or a website. I need to grab users’ attention in no time so a hook and a catchy line will be my focus for this challenge. Here is the information that I got from today’s scenario and challenge.

  • Market target: users who missed their favorite match or game
  • Users can choose their favorite team and set reminders of the game
  • The app will give them information about real-time scores and provide highlight video

Crafting The Copy

Ketinggalan pertandingan favoritmu?

Gak perlu cemas! SportGames akan ingatkan jadwal tanding tim jagoanmu. Kamu juga bisa tahu skor real time dan highlight video pertandingan, loh. Yuk buruan download sekarang!

[Button linked to PlayStore or AppStore]

Rationalization

The headline needs to attract users' attention so I’ll go with a short and catchy copy. I’ll also assume that the app tone was casual and friendly so use a question for the headline. Here I asked them about their possible problem as a sports lover which is missing their favorite match.

I used the term “pertandingan” since it had a higher statistic than “tanding” from Google Trends in Indonesia for the past 30 days. I also used the word “favorite” instead of “kesukaan” for the same reason.

In the sub-copy, I informed users about what this app offers if they downloaded it. Since the tone was casual and friendly, I tried to be chatty with users. In the end, I encourage them to download the app now and put the button linked to PlayStore or AppStore as a CTA.

Final Copy

Awesome template by Nathan Guo

Thanks for reading. I’d be happy if you were willing to give me some feedback. Let’s connect through LinkedIn!

Also, check this out!

| Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5 | Day 6 | Day 7 | Day 8 | Day 9 | Day 10 | Day 11 | Day 12 | Day 13 | Day 14 |

--

--