The Debriefing — Episode 17: Mall Crawl

Anton
2 min readMar 27, 2016

--

This one was a fun one.

Way back when Checkverse was a very rough prototype, my sister said “that would be really great for scavenger hunts”. And what do you know? Shortly after Checkverse came out, she (smknopp) created “Mall Scavenger Hunt”. Turns out, Checkverse is great for scavenger hunts.

I did the whole thing in one trip to Crossgates Mall in Albany, NY. Here’s the proof:

Today I looked like a psychopath 19 times.

Usually when I go to the mall it’s to buy clothes. I don’t ever actually buy the clothes, I try a bunch of things on and then get delusions of designing my own clothes. Then I go home without accomplishing anything.

This trip to the mall was different. I went there to get a haircut. I didn’t get a haircut cause the line was too long, but I did finish a mission!

The Debrief

There were a lot of items in this mission so I won’t go over everything, I’ll just touch on the key points:

  • Scavenger hunts are so fun. I really like looking for things. I hope there’s more soon. In the meantime, I’ve got some birdwatching to do!
  • Taking pictures of yourself doing odd things is fun. Trying to take pictures of people with pink shopping bags feels creepy.
  • I like challenges that leave things open to interpretation. In the case of this mission, “Take a picture of something your grandmother wouldn’t want to receive” was a revelation.
  • I haven’t been back to Crossgates Mall in awhile (it was my mall growing up). It’s got a comedy club now. What’s with that?

So not a lot of take-aways this week, but I had a great time. Running around the mall for a few hours highlighted that I’m getting a little out of shape so I think I’m going to have to do some healthy missions over the next few weeks. Get your eyes ready for those!

Till next time!

Your pal,
Anton

That concludes this episode of The Debriefing. If you like it then you shoulda putta heart on it.

If you like the idea of creating or taking on your own missions, get an invite for Checkverse today.

Or, for more of The Debriefing, check out the other episodes via these convenient hyperlinks:

--

--