17 / it’s (finally) my product’s turn to shine !!!

tammy koh
3 min readJun 21, 2022

--

Previously, some names I thought of were WanderWorld, Another Place, and LingoWorld (LOL). It’s been some time and I have explored other names that are literally an emotion (in relation to traveling and my project) in another language.

Some of the words found

After some consideration of how the word will look (aesthetically) as the name of my project’s simulation series, I shortlisted Hygge, which kind of have a nice ring to it. Hygge: Online travel within the World.
Not going to lie, I think as cringy as it sounds, it may work. So I’m just going to roll with it.

So before this post, I’ve done up an overview + detailed flow chart of Klook’s app, since it has done well in elevating travelers’ overseas trips. From there, I’ve identified what I liked and don’t like about the app, and I’m going to apply it to Hygge’s flow chart.

However, the difference between my product’s flow chart compared to Klook’s is that Klook’s app allows users to make actual bangs-for-bucks bookings for activities in their upcoming real-time trips; while Hygge focuses on gamifying an experience that allows users to familiarise themselves with the foreign country and plan their itinerary according to their preference/their in-app experience.

Here’s a quick recap on what Hygge is about:

  • WHY / HMW statement:
    How might we
    leverage on interactive digital media to educate on a country’s way of life
    in order to
    familiarise foreigners with the country and improve one’s free and easy traveling experience
  • WHAT: A social simulation game series
    (make it more fun for users to educate and familiarise themselves with a foreign country)
  • WHO:
    [primary] Singaporeans who love/are traveling to a foreign country free and easy
    [secondary] Singaporeans who wants to learn more about a foreign country’s culture
  • WHERE: Phone app (apple store/Google play)
  • WHEN: Updated real-time leveraging Google Maps and technology
  • HOW:
    Through Artificial Intelligence (AI), Personalisation of Trips and Digital Communities & Media. The app should (ideally) include:
    Avatar / Social accounts
    Real-time map layout of the foreign country
    Virtual shopping experience
    Personalised itinerary based on data collected from the user

With that, here is a sitemap of Hygge’s app.

If I were to simplify and break it down, the gist of the flow chart will basically look like this:

Next, I’ll (attempt) to go in-depth according to my primary persona’s (Gigi) ideal planning journey before her actual trip from the to-be journey map. Since it’s an open world, it’s crucial to note the options and choices are pretty much endless. This is but one of the many choices Gigi can make with Hygge.

[it’s not possible to put an image of the flow chart as everything becomes compressed and blurred (thanks medium), please refer to the Miro link attached below instead! thank you:-)]

With that, I have my skeleton of how I envision my product to be !! (though I do foresee a lot of coding and algorithm study when the product is really manifested) I’m kind of happy with how it turns out, with all my opportunities being optimized using tourism trends to (hopefully) create the best-case future scenario.

--

--