The Shovan Chronicles — Part 9

Insurrection

Moshe Forman
Lit Up

--

Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

Read Part: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Quench saw a figure emerge from the shadows. He put his finger to Wendy’s lips.

It was Unfrar. “Much as I hate to intrude, I couldn’t help overhearing your conversation.”

Quench laughed nervously. “We were just joking.”

“I would like to suggest a pact.”

“What do you mean?” asked Wendy.

“Quench, as The Black Redeemer, you will empower us. And I rather like the idea of you, Wendy, being the White Redeemer. Not a figure that that features in our legends, I admit, but you will be a nice embellishment to the story. It will be lapped up by the masses. As for Wendy’s father being the Third Redeemer, sheer genius. I salute you. I would never have thought of that.”

“But what is all this to you?” asked Quench.

“Whilst no admirer of King Megron, I hate the rebel leader Rivek even more; it was he who turned me into a cripple. No good can come out of an insurrection led by such a devious creature. I pleaded with the other outcasts to oppose Rivek’s schemes, but to no avail, so I volunteered to bring you here. It was an excuse to get away, to think about my next move.”

--

--

Moshe Forman
Lit Up

When I’m not a poet or novelist, I'm exploring Self, Food, Society and History. And when I'm not doing that, I'm a technical writer. www.mosheforman.com