I THINK I WILL QUIT

Motivation and Drive

Pravin Shekar
The Outlier Marketer
3 min readAug 18, 2020

--

Art @Shotta

This is the twelfth in my Quad series of #AlternativeLearning.

I think I will quit.

I think I will.

I knew about the exercise unit TheQuad for a long time, but didn’t feel a need to join. Then I joined it due to that one friend whom all of us have. She dragged me to trial class and threatened to pay for me if I didn’t join immediately.

So I did.

A bunch of new folks in a new batch in a new location. My early morning tryst with exercising resumed. It was grueling, but it is amazing how quickly bonds form when all of us are enduring the same amount of torture! The seniors gave a helping hand, and some whispered advice.

Every Friday was a game day, with teams competing for bragging rights. That brought us closer in real quick time.

Virtual classes happened thanks to lockdown, but the camaraderie continued.

After two quarters, something happened as it usually does. I missed a class. Then another. Then suddenly, it felt like a significant marathon moment to pick me up to show up for class. My body wasn’t co-operating much as well with aches and pains and creaks and shocks!

Was it boredom, was it a motivation issue? Whatever! I was sliding down the path of no-recovery, giving myself several excuses not to do something for which I had signed up. Something I used to enjoy. Something my mind needed as much as my slightly bulging tummy.

“I think I will quit,” a thought that entered a few times.

UNTIL

I was shaken from my reverie by my friend Suja. My Quad friends started missing me (and my quips) and started pinging me separately. My coach Chow reached out a few times to check if things are okay. Some people care. Care enough to coax me back on track.

Motivation is intrinsic. It is very much extrinsic as well — a drive from within supplemented by several gentle nudges and rough kicks to the butt.

Isn’t this the same with marketing and business?

Something you love doing becomes routine and suddenly loses its charm. You know you need to do certain things a certain way, especially with a mentor/coach around. Yet, we all slip.

Until we get pushed again, back on to the track, the track of movement, in the direction, we must head. Slow, but steady. The right direction.

I think I will quit; any negative line of thought.
I think I will quit listening to the devil inside me :)

(AND NO, I have not quit Quad!)

This is the twelfth in my QUAD Connect #AlternativeLearning series. You can access the past articles from the links below:

11: Disengage

10: Speed is a function of control.

9: Polygamy or Monogamy?

8: Slow up on strategy

7: Strategy over Tactics

6: Who is pushing you?

5: Micro Increments

4: Marketing Support Points

3: Marketing Warm-ups

2: Tie that lace well, getting it just right

1: Jump like a cat

Pravin is the author of seven books: Devil Does Care, Marketing lessons from Mythology, Getting paid to speak, a Virtual Summit Playbook, Climb your way out of hell & a collection of travel pics/romantic poems, and stories from the heart!

http://tiny.cc/PravinShekarBooks

#Marketing #Entrepreneur #Awareness #Strategy #Outlier #Outliermarketing #micromarketer #idea #tribe #Books #krux108 #PravinShekar #OutlierPravin #motivation #TheQuad

--

--