#MeetTheTutellusTeam: interview with Carlos López, Engineer at Tutellus

Nacho Hontoria
Tutellus.io
Published in
3 min readApr 27, 2018

How was your arrival at the Tutellus team and what have you learned on a personal and professional level since you arrived?

I joined in 2014 to aid in its first technological transition. For someone like me, used to work in many unrelated projects for many clients, it made a huge difference to be able to properly focus on a product with a clear goal and purpose. I had never been in a startup before and the attitude, the team, the sense of ownership, being directly responsible of helping millions with our work… those things make are the ones I now value the most.

How was the first time you had knowledge of blockchain technology?

It was a long time ago, at least it seems like that. When it comes to technology, everything evolves really fast, even when it doesn’t look like it. To give you some perspective, I didn’t pay for my first coins, there were faucets giving them for free so you would try it and the existing wallets. I lost them when I formatted my hard drive a few months later…

Do you think blockchain technology has come to stay or is it a fad?

I don’t think it will stay in its current form. It still has to evolve. Not that long ago some people would be incapable of seeing the internet or computing itself in their true potentials. The good news is that technology keeps evolving and permeating all aspects of life, and faster every day.

Why do you think blockchain technology can change the world of education?

As in many other sectors, it can get rid of the middleman. It can be a true reflection of achievements and knowledge, therefore allowing for a transparent market. But to me, in the end, it’s about what it enables people to do. Technology now allows us not only to learn directly from experts as our mentors, but also to reliably establish trust between all parties. Education is broken in the sense that very few really enjoy it, it’s become expensive and does not guarantee a competitive advantage to find a job. Neither does it provide business any guarantees to finding good professionals. That’s about to change, and it’s going to be huge.

What is being done to change the lives of more than 100 million people from Tutellus? What are your feelings about it?

I don’t think about our impact that often, but it’s humbling to know how people’s lives directly benefit from our efforts. We’re changing the playing field forever. Some of our teachers have tens of thousands of students. They already have a very good reputation in their respective fields. Their work is now part of official college courses. In a few months, their students will benefit threefold by also being economically rewarded and accessing new job opportunities.
Their now tacit reputation will soon have a public recognition. I think it’s really hard to see the full implications yet, but it’s really exciting to be amongst the ones making it possible.

When you go out of the Tutellus HQ, how is your life? What are your hobbies?

I love technology, so I’m never really far from the office, at least in my head. I also enjoy making noises accidentally resembling music to torment my family. Other than that I like big buckets of popcorn and a movie or a good tv show.

--

--