Why is No One Speaking?

and why others can…

Jerome K.
Wake. Write. Win.
3 min readMay 29, 2024

--

I am a rather silent person.

When I was a kid, I was the “quiet kid” in class. Among my family members, I would usually talk the least. In social gatherings, I only open my mouth when asked a question.

This personality trait is still embedded in me up to this day.

Back in school…

The mandatory rules of silence in classes enhanced this trait of mine. As a student, we were told to keep quiet and listen to the teacher. We would sit for long hours a day without speaking.

Being quiet has become much worse with the boom of technology. At a restaurant, I see some people with each of them on their phone, using it and not talking to who they are eating with — their friends, family, or significant other.

As I grow older, I continue to realize that being quiet has become a problem that is slowly rooting itself in society.

My social skills are not up-to-date and this has hindered me, especially during social gatherings and events.

Silence has stolen opportunities, possible friendships, and happiness.

The communication barrier the new generation is facing must be addressed as soon as possible. People have forgotten what it feels like to “connect with others” and only connect to their phones. This plague when not checked, can destroy friendships between two kids or important political ties (and maybe cause war).

A Trip I Won’t Forget

I came back from a trip recently with a few friends. We had a night’s stay at a beach.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I was not that close with them so I was rather quiet. However…

there I realized that some people can talk NONSTOP

WORDS JUST CAME OUT OF THEIR MOUTHS

I knew some people who could not stop talking…I didn’t know how far it could go. Despite I got a good night’s rest, I was in awe at how long they talked.

How did they do it?

They were not a group of close-knit friends but they rambled for hours until they saw the sun rise. To me, it comes down to willingness

A willingness to speak with others but most importantly LISTEN.

Most people today just hear, but don’t listen anymore. We do not pay attention to what others say.

Why would we when we have all the entertainment stored in our phones?

As one who has constantly done that, I believe that everyone should put it away and listen to the closest person to them. You never know if those moments can come back to you so cherish them. Speak to those around you and…

you never know, you may even learn a thing or two.

— Jerome K.

If you like what your reading, do consider giving me claps, a comment, and a follow!!

Read My Recent Stories📚:

Remember What Happened Yesterday?

It’s Over?? How Fast Time Flies

Empty Honor Is It Enough?

Popular Stories🌟:

Why We Should Change the Question of the Competition

Why Goals Are a Drug

Learn more by reading my “About me” here.

--

--