Just Far Enough Away — 19 of 31

Or “The Forest and the Trees”

Kyle Murray
1 min readMay 20, 2017

I’m a patron of Ninja Writers and this is day eighteen of the May Medium Post-a-Day Challenge of blogging for 30 consecutive days.

One. Two. Three. Four. Five. Six. Seven. Eight.Nine.Ten.Eleven.Twelve.Thirteen. Fourteen. Fifteen. Sixteen. Seventeen. Eighteen.

Just far enough away is where I need to be

to venture out on my own without forsaking what I’ve known

and confront my inner turmoil peacefully

Just far enough away where there’s not a soul in sight

the remnants of the past are crystal clear here

amongst the deer and the warm daylight

Just far enough away to not be truly disconnected

I take my own route to instill a will stout

while my family and traditions are respected

Just far enough away to master what I must

I cannot depend on others to defend

what is solely mine to adjust

Just far enough away to test my soul’s strength

to build a will to fight on at length

Connect with me on LinkedIn even though what trends there makes zero sense to me, so feel free to connect on Twitter.

--

--

Kyle Murray

Tar Heel. OCR Athlete. Writer. Content Manager. My mission is to make lives better and live well.