Day #12 — How I ‘Create’’ Time

Adam Dukes
4 min readMay 27, 2017

--

This is a LIVE case study where I am documenting my journey to becoming a highly paid marketing consultant by blogging everyday for 50 consecutive days. It’s called “50 Days to Freedom: My Journey to 5 Figures in 50 Days“. At the end of the post, you will find links to all the previous days.

Four weeks ago, I DECIDED I was going to wake up an hour earlier (5:15ish).

I immediately take a walk around the neighborhood. I then read, and do my journaling work. The first hour of the day is MY time.

Here is a picture from my walk this morning…

I’m trying to get to bed an hour earlier, so technically I’m not really “gaining” an hour.

However, I am gaining one more very productive hour by doing this. I guess I’m “optimizing” my time and being more efficient with it.

We all only have 24 hours in a day.

You get to DECIDE how you use your time

So many complain “I don’t have time”, and it’s typically the people who can give you a step-by-step run down of the latest TV show or Netflix series

Day #12 Breakdown

Today, I emailed CrossFit gyms in Ohio with the free 10 day trial of Facebook advertising I have been using, as that seems to be working. I also emailed Ohio & California chiropractors about uncovering their hidden assets.

Currently, I am in talks with 10 CrossFit gyms, so spending quite a bit of time coordinating everything.

To be honest, it is a considerable amount of time back & forth with email. The last couple days, I have been trying to push them to hop on a phone call, as it’ll save both us a heap of time. Unfortunately, it seems most prefer to communicate via email.

I am also working with 3 other people who requested action plans (I prefer that over proposals). I sent one out yesterday, and will send the other 2 out before the weekend is over.

Soon, my friends…

The pipeline is filling up, and that is a good problem to have.

From my past experience, you need to constantly be feeding the pipeline. Something I did not do years ago, and I learned the hard way — it can dry up FAST!

I got comfortable, and that is the silent killer in business.

My original goal was 100 emails per day, 5 days a week. This week, I only managed to send out 182.

Last week, I sent out 335 emails, so a two week total of 517 emails sent — and 10 hot leads from that. A 2% conversion is not too bad with cold email.

Trying to balance the email outreach with the hot leads. It’s not as easy as I thought, but again, these are good problems to have.

Amazing when you do the work, consistently, things start happening. This is only day #12, and things are happening. It is quite exciting. No revenue yet, but that should change in the coming days. And if there is one thing I have learned over the last 7 years, is that momentum is a POWERFUL force in business. It’s also a great confidence booster, and becoming a highly paid marketing consultant is all about confidence.

This challenge has also lit a fire in my belly, as it’s public for the whole world to see. I know the “whole world isn’t watching”, but in a way, it feels that way, and that’s motivating.

Hopefully, this inspires others that when you follow a plan, and do the work, you can create your own magic.

Day #12 Numbers

Emails Sent: 37

Sales Calls: 0

Facebook Posts: 2

Leads Generated: 1

Committed Trial Offers: 0

Action Plans/Proposals Sent Out: 0

Revenue Generated: $0

If you’re getting value from any of these posts, please share with a friend.

If you have comments and/or suggestions, please leave a comment below!

Last, but certainly not least: Thank you so much for reading, it means more than you know!

Follow along: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, Day 8, Day 9, Day 10, Day 11

--

--

Adam Dukes

A stay-at-home-Dadpreneur, a marketing strategist, a cheeseburger connoisseur and a wastebucket full of useless sports knowledge.