When Mark Zuckerberg Was Reading My WhatsApp

Erkan Ala
2 min readJan 9, 2019

--

Ahmet is a close friend of mine. He is a doctor, a urologist.

He is into bodybuilding and techno. He is a bodybuilder a DJ and a urologist.
Recently he started a WhatsApp group called Muscle & Sex and asked us to be his guinea pigs for a study that he is conducting. He gave to 12 of us (all male) some instructions:

Do not have sex for 48 hours
Go to the gym
Do 5 sets of 5 reps leg extension (pick a weight on your limit, try hard)
Note down how much you have pushed
Wait for a week
Have sex for 10 to15 mins
Wait for 12 hours
Go to the gym again
Do 5 sets of 5 reps leg extension (do your best with the weight)
Note down how much you have pushed again
Report back if the weight is lighter or heavier

While everyone was thinking about who to have sex with, Mark Zuckerberg was sitting on his kitchen, eating a bowl of cereal and reading our messages on his MacBook with a blocked camera and a microphone. He was probably using Google Translate because we were chatting in Turkish. As he did in 2004, he had seen the opportunity and triggered a sponsored post on my Instagram feed from CHEST (Center for HIV Educational Studies and training). It was a photo of 3 well build men hugging each other and making out. The caption was, “New paid research study for gay men in a non-monogamous relationship.” And there was a link to “Learn More.”

I didn’t want to learn more, but I did complain to my friend Ahmet, that he is making us work free for him, while apparently, we could have gotten paid for it.

My other stories:

Let’s Start

Just Ordered A Baby From Amazon Crane

When Mark Zuckerberg Was Reading My WhatsApp

How did you guys meet?

That Diner

Dreaming Of Retirement

Starting My Own Country

West 4th Station Cooked My Lunch

Saturday Night Fever

I Recycle, Therefore I Consume

--

--