On Knowing Yourself

Ozzy Etomi
2 min readJun 17, 2016

--

June 17

“Stop changing who you are for people who don’t even know themselves”

People like you,

Collect snow,

Then complain,

When it starts to feel cold.

Do you even know what you want?

If I could gather all the sand,

From all the beaches,

And pour it into an hourglass,

Then turn it upside down,

And watch it trickle,

That is how long it would take,

For me to trust you.

Listen.

I don’t want to know you,

If you do not know yourself.

Thank you for taking the time out to read what I have so lovingly shared. If you like what you read, please click the little green heart at the bottom of the screen :)

This is day 17 of my 30 day writing project. Please click previous stories if you would like to check out some of my other entries.

The Women Who Are Scared

On Protecting Your Magic

The Women Who Are Too Much

Nobody Enjoys Being Different

One Of Those Days 2

Forgive Yourself

Marriage Advice For Men (You’re Welcome)

13 Lessons I Learned From Paul Coehlo

The Women Scorned

Fire Starter

The Women Before Me

On Making Friends And Alienating People

Just One Of Those Days

To The She-women Feminist Haters Club

No, I am Not Taking My Husband’s Name

My 30 Day Writing Project

--

--

Ozzy Etomi

I write about gender, culture, feminism and shared human experiences. Working on my first book. My personal website is www.ozzyetomi.com