The Shovan Chronicles — Part 10

The Council of Guardians

Moshe Forman
Lit Up
Published in
15 min readNov 8, 2018

--

Copyright: Moshe Forman

Read Part: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

The Kedshine pointed towards the rock face. “The Council-of-Guardians is assembled.”

“Who are you?” asked Quench, trying to sound self-assured.

“I am your assistant. I will take you to the the Council.”

“Who will preside over the ceremony?”

“Our Elder is Lasrun. He will preside over the Rite of Transition.”

“That seems satisfactory, please lead the way.”

That shows authority, thought Quench, if only I could speak with a firmer voice.

Unfrar and Gineferod rose. Their assistant turned his palm in their direction. “You cannot follow. Wait here.”

“They are needed at the Great-Gathering,” Unfrar replied.

“Where and when they are needed, is for others to decide.”

“We will look for you later,” said Wendy, as they were led into the opening in the cliff. The other Kedshine followed.

Quench clasped Wendy’s hand as they followed their assistant along the dark tunnel. They bowed their heads to pass under the low ceiling. The daylight grew dimmer behind them. They could see only darkness ahead.

--

--

Moshe Forman
Lit Up

When I’m not a poet or novelist, I'm exploring Self, Food, Society and History. And when I'm not doing that, I'm a technical writer. www.mosheforman.com