I Am Earning Through Medium Without Even Joining MPP

The Medium Partner Program is not available in my country, still, I started earning within one and half months of joining Medium.

Qudsia Inam
New Writers Welcome
4 min readJul 14, 2022

--

Photo by Nicolas Tissot on Unsplash

I have been away from my favorite writing forum i.e. Medium for two weeks which is the maximum gap I had since joining this platform. Trust me I missed it daily and craved to read the articles published here by such amazing writers. I thought about Medium daily, especially while going to bed thinking I couldn’t make it today and felt as sad as you feel when you can’t reach your romantic partner for days. That’s the kind of relationship I have with this platform, its writers, and my readers.

I am not an experienced writer. I joined Medium on May 19, 2022, and after reaching the benchmark of 100 followers, I came to know that citizens of Pakistan are not eligible to join MPP. I have shared my journey through this article as well. However, today I am here with another update on my journey as a motivation for all the new writers like me.

I am earning through Medium without even joining the Medium Partner Program

In July 2022, I earned a total of $179 through my writing and it was not possible without Medium. I know it isn’t much, I am still a beginner and have a long way to go. However, the way I see it, I have earned an additional $179 which I was not earning till June 2022.

Here is my step-by-step journey for your motivation:-

  1. I joined Medium on May 19, 2022, and have published a total of thirty-one (31) articles to date excluding this one.
  2. I kept on reading and commenting on the work of fellow authors slowly but consistently.
  3. None of my articles have gone viral and the maximum number of views I got on any of my articles is 100. (Nothing exceptional? I know. But I can’t express the joy of submitting my work and getting appreciation from the limited number of readers I have)
  4. My Life a poem published in “Life Line” was selected as “Poem of the week” by Sahil Patel in June’s Second Week Prompt of Life Line.
  5. My poem I had a Dream was selected as “Poem of the week” by Sahil Patel in June’s Fourth Week Prompt of Life Line. I am so grateful for the support and appreciation from an experienced poet like Sahil.
  6. The famous Robert Ralph mentioned my article in NWW & WILTY Newsletter.
  7. Marilyn Glover the editor of NWW also picked my article as “The Editor’s Pick for the week ending June 17th” of NWW.
  8. Getting my name mentioned by such great writers didn’t result in a single penny but I earned the confidence to keep writing and publishing my work despite the limited number of views and engagements.
  9. In the meanwhile, I joined upwork and kept on searching the relevant jobs and submitting proposals until June 29, 2022, when one of the proposals got accepted after the rejection of countless of them, resulting in an income of $144 to date.
  10. I participated in weekly and monthly prompts of publications I am a member of, and to my surprise, I won the NWW June Prompt Challenge. Thanks to Drashti Shroff for coming up with this challenge and Robert Ralph for a publication like New Writer’s Welcome. The prize money for the challenge was $35.

While writing all the above accomplishments I am reliving all those joyful moments and finding it difficult to stay still in my chair and complete this story.

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Here is how Medium helped me throughout this journey:-

  1. I got to read the work of such amazing and experienced writers I wasn’t even aware of.
  2. I got myself some loyal readers on this forum who take the time to read and appreciate my work.
  3. I had a forum to practice, publish and polish my writing with real-time feedback from the readers.
  4. Getting appreciation from experienced writers gave me the confidence to keep writing and publishing my work.
  5. My proposal at upwork was submitted only after the employer reviewed my article published on Medium as a sample of my work and decided to give me a chance.
  6. I am getting recognition from several writers at this forum slowly but steadily.

The purpose of sharing this journey with all of you is that, if a new writer, a beginner like me, can achieve so much in such little time, so can you. Don’t give up. Keep reading, writing, and publishing your work, and never stop believing in yourself. Finding this forum was the first step in the right direction. There is a lot more to come.

Once again thank you so much to all the readers, editors, and publishers who take the time to read and appreciate my work. Your feedback is what keeps me going.

Moral of the Story: Even if you can’t join MPP, Medium can still help you in so many ways throughout your journey as a writer. If I can do it, you can do it too. Best of luck.

--

--

Qudsia Inam
New Writers Welcome

I write about topics including relationships, life goals, love, friendship and self-improvement, through articles and poetry.