Yapjaw: This Newsletter Always Goes For It On 4th Down

Slackjaw
Slackjaw
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readSep 28, 2022
Image by Troy Doetch

Slackjaw readers and patrons of comedy, my name is Adam Dietz and I am the editor of Slackjaw’s thrice-monthly newsletter Yapjaw. Each month, I will showcase the best and brightest humor on Slackjaw in addition to some other cool stuff from equally cool spots. Spooky szn (season) is nearly upon us, so get your goddamn gourds out and cue up one of the Friday the 13th sequels. Next month we’re doing an OOPS, ALL HALLOWEEN installment of the newsletter. It’ll be scary and funny, just like Scream! And ahh, don’t be surprised everyone’s favorite foul-mouthed doll makes an appearance. I’m talking about ya boi Chucky! Cancel culture keeps coming for the Chuck, but when you know doll Voodoo, it takes more than a few old Tweets to bring you down.

On this week’s edition of Yapjaw, we’re talking triplets, NYC, and karate. Want the goods? Keep reading!

Great Work From Other Great Places:

What To Do With Dad’s Ashes When You’re Moving, And Dad Can’t Come by Lindsay Marie in The Belladonna Comedy

Photo by Cristina Matos-Albers on Unsplash

Welcome To Our Cul-De-Sac by Bobbie Armstrong & Madeline Goetz in McSweeney’s

N.Y.C. Has Changed In The Two Hours Since I Arrived by Lana Schwartz in The New Yorker

Editor’s Note:

Dear Adam,

Why do you get so mad when we lose on Sundays? We’ve been doing it your entire life?

-The Detroit Lions, Detroit, Michigan

Dear Detroit Lions,

I honestly don’t know. Following you has been one of the tragedies of my life. My father and I both watch you every Sunday and then feel sickened when you find new and excruciating ways to lose close games. I wish I could quit you, I’ve tried, but I know in my heart of hearts that I’ll never be able to. Someday, you’re going to put it all together and it’ll all be worthwhile, all the sadness and torturous Sundays. Or so I tell myself. Until then, I’ll watch, trying to remind myself that none of it matters. Even though whenever I settle in for one of your stupid games, very few things seem to matter more.

The Final Bell:

Be sure and follow Slackjaw on all of your favorite social media sites. Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram, it’s all here.

Interesting in submitting to Slackjaw? Of course you are! Our submission guidelines can be found here.

Spread the word, comment below, tell your friends. Keep reading, writing, drinking, eating, and doing your thing.

Until the next edition of Yapjaw, take it easy.

--

--