Nancy Peckenham
Crow’s Feet
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readMay 30, 2024

--

Summer is around the corner, a time to roll down your car window, feel the breeze, and turn up the music on your radio. Taste the freedom.

This week, we offer stories about music that brings back the memories and the emotions of our lives. (Written in response to our current writing prompt.)

When you read the stories below, you may find yourself singing the lyrics in your head or heading to your music streaming service to listen to the long version one more time. It’s magic.

Other moments filled with emotion occurred this past weekend when Americans honored their war dead, people who fought and died in armed conflicts around the world. You can listen to host Lee J. Bentch’s stirring tribute on the Memorial Day Special episode on the Crow’s Feet Podcast. Listen here.

Our Stories

Married to the Music. A lifetime (and beyond) of harmony. By Ann Litts

Could You Live Without Music? Music is in my DNA. It is as important to me as love and friendship. I could live without it but I wouldn’t thrive. I wouldn’t be happy… By Soozie Campbell

The Joy of Singing Together. What singing in the choir taught me about music, joy, strength, and community. By Laura Blankenship

Supermarket Music. When did my music turn into oldies? By Robin James

A Song for a Broken Heart. Breaking through the barrier of heartache with music. By Deb Wax

Time Traveling on a Song…or Three. The songs I most remember pair strong lyrics with an awesome beat. By Chris Raymond

Soundtrack of My Youth: Still on Repeat Today. With some minor additions. By Jean Crawford Evans

The Times They Are (Not) a-Changin’. I just can’t shake loose from my connection to Sixties music. By Barry Silverstein

The Rock Star From Asbury Park Who’s Not Springsteen. By Brian Dickens Barrabee

Old Hipsters Go See The Piano Man. Billy Joel was amazing; need I say more? By Carole Olsen

50 Years, Where’d They Go? Music from my “road trip.” By J. Avery Stewart

I’m the Oldest in My Family, I’ll Listen to What I Want. Music has been influential in my family for decades. By Lee J. Bentch

How I Survive with Sound Sensitivity (Hyperacusis). When music hurts more than it heals. By Sandra Pawula

Until next week,

Nancy Peckenham, Editor

Crow’s Feet: Life As We Age is a nonprofit, 501(c)3 charitable organization that produces this publication and a bi-weekly podcast.

If you find essays and interviews on Crow’s Feet: Life As We Age that change your views on aging or help you navigate the aging process, please visit our website, www.crowsfeetlifeasweage.com to share in all the ways we are telling our stories in print, on the podcast, and on YouTube.

Help us reach even more people with our meaningful discussions about aging.

Please forward this newsletter to a friend.

If you read this newsletter and you’re not a subscriber, you can subscribe here (free!) to get the weekly newsletter in your inbox.Nancy Peckenham, Editor

--

--

Nancy Peckenham
Crow’s Feet

Journalist, editor, mother, wife, sister, daughter, friend, adventurer, history-lover. Editor of Crow’s Feet