The Shovan Chronicles — Part 11

The Spirit of Shimhan

Moshe Forman
Lit Up
Published in
15 min readNov 14, 2018

--

Copyright: Moshe Forman

Read Part: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

“Squish, squish, squish, squish…”

The audience kept chanting over and over. Quench shrugged his shoulders at Wendy. She shook her head; she couldn’t understand what was happening either.

Quench waved his hand, to acknowledge the audience’s acclaim. They fell silent. Oh no, he thought, I hadn’t meant to silence them. They think I want to say something.

He leaned over to Wendy. “What do we do now?”

“I’ll say something about being pleased to have finally revealed the sign.” She felt her body stiffen. “It’s happening again…something is taking over…I can’t let it…” A serene, distant smile came over her face.

“Wendy, you’re frightening me, what is it? I’ve never seen that look before.”

Wendy spoke, with a strong, resounding voice. “Thus has the Sign been revealed. Before discourse on any of the revelations, you must give the Sign.”

“What are the revelations of which you speak?” asked Lasrun.

Wendy looked with vacant eyes. “In the days to come, you will learn the way to enlightenment. The true son and heir of King Fighek will be revealed.”

--

--

Moshe Forman
Lit Up

When I’m not a poet or novelist, I'm exploring Self, Food, Society and History. And when I'm not doing that, I'm a technical writer. www.mosheforman.com