I Published 80 Short-Form Articles in January — Here Are The Results

The goal was 100, but luckily I had a lot of work at hand.

Daniel Silva
Writers’ Blokke
6 min readFeb 20, 2022

--

Image from Canva

When I came back to Medium after a one-year hiatus, I came across a challenge Abena Jackson put herself through.

She wrote 400 short-form articles during October.

That’s 13 articles a day, give or take. Seemed a bit too much but still, a good challenge.

I decided to do something similar, so I aimed to publish 100 articles throughout the month of January.

Was only able to publish 80, but was enough to understand a few things.

A Stressful Challenge

Besides my freelance work, launching my own business, and building some extensive articles, writing 100 short-form articles ended up putting way too much stress I was hoping to deal with.

I started writing 3 articles per day. The problem started when I had too much work at hand on some days.

There were some days when I wrote no short-form article at all and that put up some unwanted stress on my shoulders.

It fell less of a side hustle and more as a part-time job.

I Feel It Lacks Quality

Before doing the hiatus, I was enjoying some mild success on medium, netting between $50 to $100 per month.

Though I wasn’t writing as much, I can safely say the quality was superior.

Being a firm believer in quantity over quality (when starting), I was shocked at first when I saw a lower income when compared to my first month of dishing out quality content.

But the truth is that the Medium community seems to enjoy well-structured articles — even if they don’t meet the curation guidelines.

Plus it makes it easier for people to be engaged in the story.

None of the Articles Got Curated

Medium doesn’t assure curation for short-form articles.

I don’t blame them. It would be a pain to review every single 2-minute article that’s published every day.

Nonetheless, it hurts the views. Few got 100 views and even fewer reached the 1000 mark.

Screenshot by author

Even though I used a top writer tag “short story” — like many others — in all of the articles, the views were just far too slim.

Followers Don’t Cut It

I have 5 times more followers than when I was making almost $100 a month.

Still, views declined, reads declined, reach declined, income declined. Everything came downhill despite having over 1k followers now.

Screenshot by author

The obligatory 100 followers to be able to profit from the Partner Program seems to make followers almost irrelevant nowadays.

Everyone follows everyone regardless of their content and/or interests.

In turn, the Medium homepage just doesn’t recommend my articles as much as I wanted — that’s what I believe at least.

Tom Kuegler highlighted this flaw in the algorithm even.

It’s Hard to Find Publications

There are publications that accept almost anything, then there are others that are a bit more selective.

Trying to find fitting Publications for short format it’s not that easy, as the biggest ones don’t usually accept articles that don’t meet curation guidelines, and the ones that do, don’t focus on specific thematics.

So most of them were self-published, which didn’t help with the reads as I was unable to reach other audiences besides my followers.

Eventually, I ended up submitting some articles to some publications like Writer’s Blokke, New Writers Welcome, Geek Culture, Two Minute Madness, and The Shortform.

However, the results weren’t satisfying enough for me to put in the effort to find more publications to submit all of the articles.

It Doesn’t Pay Off

Medium pays writers based on how much time Medium members spend while reading your article.

Short-form articles are 2 minutes long, according to the algorithm, but, truth be told, anyone reads faster than what Medium suggests.

Therefore, it is possible for someone to read a short-form in half of that time — or even less. That hurts the reads count, which in turn hurts your income.

Screenshot by author

As you can see, I got $40.14 for writing 4 times the amount I wrote in the past.

More than half are allocated to a couple of articles, which makes things even worse. If those two were to tank in terms of reads, I would be getting around $10 for 80 articles.

Either way, it was a fair challenge that taught me a lot. And in case you didn’t get the chance to read some of the articles, here’s the list:

  1. The Unspoken Trap of Minimalism
  2. My Problem With Minimalism
  3. Why People Hate on Minimalism
  4. One Close That Increased My Sales by 614%
  5. 5 Signs You Should Join The Great Resignation
  6. Lost In Your 30s? Don’t Worry, Life Isn’t Over Yet
  7. 3 Advice We Need To Stop Giving
  8. It’s Easy To Make Money In 2022
  9. 14 Expenses to Cut if You Want to Save More Money
  10. I’m Sorry, I Don’t Want to be The Better Version of Myself
  11. The Harsh Reality of Becoming a Freelancer
  12. Signs You Might Be Falling Into Depression
  13. Why Matt D’Avella is Not a Minimalist
  14. 5 Simple Tricks to Get More Sales
  15. Avoid These 4 Investing Mistakes in Your 20s
  16. I Tried Day Trading Crypto For a Month
  17. 9 Quotes From “The Alchemist” to Live By
  18. Why You Should Prioritize Quantity Over Quality
  19. The Best Tool I’ve Used as a Content Marketer
  20. Save Up to $78110 Drinking Water
  21. Why Self-Improvement Is Sabotaging You
  22. Why I Think Black Friday Might End
  23. 5 Soft Skills to Highlight in a Job Interview
  24. 5 Questions You Should Ask In a Job Interview
  25. 5 Jobs That Will Soon Disappear
  26. Freelance Clients’ Green Flags to Look for
  27. 6 Things to Avoid Saying Through Text
  28. 6 Major Signs of Toxic People
  29. 7 Painful Truths You Should Accept
  30. I Got Wasted at 31 So You Don’t Have To
  31. Use This Website if You Miss Going to the Office
  32. One Simple Trick to Stop Procrastinating
  33. What I Learned From Keeping a More Private Life
  34. 7 Types of Laziness That Make You Procrastinate
  35. 6 Pieces of Advice for My Younger Self
  36. 12 Reasons You Should Let That Person Go
  37. Meet the Indonesian Who Became Millionaire Thanks to a Joke
  38. Instagram Has a New Money-Making Feature
  39. Learn When to Shut up
  40. Bolt Is the First Tech Unicorn to Adopt 4 Day Work Week
  41. Toxic Behaviors That Are Considered Normal
  42. 7 Things That Make Me Feel Sexy as A Man
  43. You Are Also Capable of Being Toxic Sometimes
  44. What Depression Looks Like in a Relationship
  45. The Effects of Depression on Academic Performance
  46. Signs of Narcissistic Parenting
  47. Unveiled a Method That Stops Pancreatic Cancer Progression
  48. 5 Stages of A Breakup
  49. 17 Powerful Verbs to Use in Your Resume
  50. 3 Tools I Use to Create Images for Medium
  51. How to Boost Creativity
  52. How to Make People Respect You
  53. Use the Unfollow Button
  54. Never Take Your Friends For Granted
  55. How to Deal With Burnout
  56. 3 Instagram Myths That Stop Your Account From Growing
  57. Raisins Are the Spiders of the Fruit World
  58. 4 Myths About Smartphone Batteries
  59. 4 Mistakes That Damage Your Smartphone Battery
  60. Should You Unplug Chargers to Save Energy?
  61. Protect Your Logo For Free
  62. Is FIRE Actually Viable?
  63. Try This Website if You’re Bored
  64. Mental Illness Is Also Physical
  65. Retirement Tips By Age
  66. 5 Unavoidable Laws About Life
  67. I Rediscovered Minecraft At 31
  68. 5 Places to Get Content Ideas
  69. 4 Polite Ways to Say No to Your Clients
  70. Self-Destructive Habits You Should Quit
  71. My Minimalism Perspective as a Marketer
  72. 5 Regrets of a College Graduate
  73. Why I Don’t Write Conclusions Anymore
  74. 5 Unconscious Habits of High-Functioning Anxiety People
  75. 4 Ways to Calm Down When Feeling Reactive
  76. 16 Calls-To-Action to Boost Your Engagement
  77. Understand the Concept of Intelligence
  78. 6 Types of Therapy That Don’t Focus On Talking
  79. How to Maintain Motivation
  80. Tactics People Use to Hide Their Depression

--

--