Community Highlight #18, Mowreez

Regularly, we put the spotlight on an active member of the Alephium community. This is an opportunity to showcase their contributions to the ecosystem, what drives them and what they are passionate about! More episodes: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11, #12, #13, #14, #15, #16, and #17.

Alephium
6 min readApr 6, 2024

Mowreez is passionate about crypto and likes to be informed about all things Alephium-related. Now, he is the Editor-in-Chief of the Alephium Gazette! Check out the interview to learn more about him!

What can we call you, and where should we picture you?

I'm excited to be part of this. You can call me Mow. I picture myself as someone who’s always out and about, taking leisurely strolls in the park.

Tell us a bit about yourself, what you’re doing, what you’re passionate about in life, your Hobbies?

I’m a person with diverse interests, but two passions truly define me: Cryptocurrency (especially BTC and ALPH) and everything medical science, from health and longevity to sports science.

My enthusiasm for cryptocurrency is probably no secret by now, but I’m just as excited by all the stuff that helps us live healthier lives. The medical world is just as exciting as the crypto world. And let me tell you, gene therapy? Absolutely fascinating! But to put it simply, the longer we live, the longer we get to HODL our $BTC and $ALPH!

Can you share with us how you first discovered the Alephium community?

Oh, it’s quite random yet an intriguing tale. So there I was, just casually scrolling through my ‘Crypto Twitter’ feed, as one does in the thick of the bear market, when I came across a post by @zkitbeats. They were calling out for folks to get their handles immortalized in the ALPHa APES collection. Intrigued, I thought, ‘Heck yes, I’m in!’ In no time at all, an NFT was minted with my name on it. With excitement, I downloaded the mobile wallet, dashed over to Deadrare.

You can say the mantra ‘ape now, get rekt later’ applies, but, with this one, I sensed something out of the ordinary. My entire journey from Gate.io to purchasing the NFT was smooth and swift. So, I did a bunch of digging, and the more I found out, the more I got pumped. Then, I eventually joined the community.

And yes, one might argue it’s these most random encounters that supposedly change your life.

What caught your attention and what keeps you in the community?

The community is amazing. Everyone is rolling up their sleeves, picking up their shovels, getting their hands dirty, and working together to spread the word. It’s a supportive and welcoming environment, making it a joy to be a part of. I’ve been involved in numerous projects, but none have ever felt as much like home as this one.

What aspects or features of Alephium as a protocol & tech stack are you the most excited about? What sets it apart from other projects?

There are many aspects, but let me highlight my top three. First off, the fact that it’s a sharded blockchain totally blows my mind. Sharding is this buzzword that’s been all over the crypto space, but Alephium stands out as the only project to actually bring it to life at a protocol level.

Secondly, Alephium’s unique BlockFlow algorithm sets it apart. Working in tandem with DAG and sharding, this facilitates fast and secure transactions, a very significant advantage in the crypto space.

Lastly, Alephium uses a Proof of Work consensus but with a unique feature. It plans to reduce energy use with Proof of Burn as the network grows. This approach not only adds more security but also makes the token more scarce. All of these combined together sets Alephium apart from any project in existence.

You are writing awesome math/finance posts on providing liquidity on AYIN for example, how do you come to the idea and implement it? Do you do it for yourself and then think it’s cool to write about?

($TOP it, you’re flattering me!) At the heart of it all, my aim was just to document my DeFi activities and use Twitter as my public journal. I thought by sharing my positions, I might receive feedback and learn from others as they begin to share their activities too, (which they did!). Some crafted calculators, others shared enhanced strategies, and a few even put together tutorials! The community’s response was overwhelmingly positive, and noticing that $AYIN was flying under the radar, I felt inspired to shine a spotlight on it.

Coming from a background as a restaurant owner and holding a degree in Accountancy, I saw a chance to share some of the wisdom I picked up. I wanted to highlight that while the chain is safe, secure, and cheap to interact with, losing or winning- DeFi trades should still be done responsibly.

You wrote this fantastic report on all things happening in the ecosystem and which things people should follow, how/why do you assemble all this information and decide to share the alpha? Are you Alephium’s first journalist?

Thank you for the kind words! I believe in the power of sharing knowledge. By putting these all together, I’m able to give a quick picture of the Alephium ecosystem and shine a spotlight on the most exciting parts. Hoping this way, everyone can make smart choices and keep up with the freshest news in Alephium.

When it comes to dishing out the ‘alpha’, I just think it’s nice to share updates that could potentially benefit others in the future.

And about being dubbed Alephium’s first journalist, well, I wouldn’t necessarily label myself as such, but hey, I’ll take it!! Haha! But at the end of the day, I’m just a huge fan of the project.

Part of your content is TA, would you describe yourself as a trader? can you share a Big Win and a Major “L” in your trading activities? And maybe a funny story related to Alephium?

While I still engage in technical analysis, I now see myself more as an investor, keen on sharing the beauty of the ALPH/USDT chart.

In trading, I’ve experienced both big W’s and L’s. A notable win was during the 2021 bull run, profiting significantly from Bitcoin (leveraged). Conversely, a major loss occurred when I attempted to short Bitcoin forks! In leverage trading, L pretty much stands for Liquidation. (I know!) This taught me to avoid leverage (forever) and shorting during bull runs.

A humorous moment with Alephium involved convincing my partner to invest in it when it was $0.20, using every persuasive tactic known to mankind. It was a successful, albeit modest, persuasion. 😊

Which projects or dApps built on Alephium & part of that ecosystem are you most intrigued/excited about?

I really think Alephium is going to be a big deal in DeFi, which is why $AYIN is at the top of my list of exciting projects.

But DeFi isn’t just about trading one token. I think $TOP is going to be big news, so watch out for it! A huge thanks to zkitbeats for starting this!

As for NFTs, I’m particularly excited about Pyreplay, What the Duck, and Talers. I believe they have all the ingredients to become successful NFT projects — a committed developer team, a clear mission, and great execution.

What’s your view on the ecosystem growth and evolution of the past few months? What are you looking forward to the most in Alephium?

The growth and evolution over the past few months have been truly remarkable. The introduction of new projects and dApps from the Hackathon, the excitement brewing around the implementation of new innovative features through the Rhone upgrade, and the active participation of the community with useful tooling and beautiful NFTs all contributed to the growth. The speed at which we’re moving is just mind-blowing!

What excites me the most is the potential for further innovation and expansion in the DeFi sector. CLAMM (Concentrated Liquidity Automated Market Maker) is an interesting thing to see alongside with P2P lending protocols, lending pools, and oracles. The prospect of introducing overcollateralized stablecoins backed by Alephium is also thrilling.

Alephium has the potential to revolutionize the DeFi space, and I am eager to witness how all these will contribute to the overall growth of the ecosystem.

Anything else you’d like to add?

Make sure to follow Alephium Gazette, we’re up to some really exciting things! I appreciate you all!

This concludes #18 of the community highlights. Thank you, Mowreez, for sharing your passion with the Alephium community and contributing all across!

Meanwhile, you can follow Alephium on Github, Twitter. Join the conversation on Discord, Telegram or Reddit.

--

--

Alephium

Scalable for devs. Secure for users. Decentralized for all.