Announcement: iPoetry-Paper Poetry Prompt, ‘The Ghost of The Past’

Excerpts and winner

Suntonu Bhadra
Paper Poetry
4 min readNov 11, 2021

--

Image from the Paper Poetry Home Page, edited in Canva (Link)

Hello, dear readers and writers of Paper Poetry,

How are you doing today? I hope you all are doing great at your end.

We have recently completed the October Poetry prompt, ‘The Ghost of the Past,’ a collaboration run by iPoetry & Paper Poetry.

I want to thank all the writers who submitted their content for the prompt. We loved the fantastic entries in both publications and were fascinated by the diverse range of topics covered by the writers.

We would also like to thank our readers, who inspired our writers by exploring the content in Paper Poetry.

Image courtesy: GB Rogut

Excerpts from the poems

I couldn’t resist but to mention some excerpts from the submitted poems on the theme, in the following:

✍️ The Final Kiss by Lubna Yusuf

“A cold touch of breeze
withering skin upon skin
your eyes hold mine in darkness”

✍️ Some of the Ghosts Are Good At Hiding by Dana Sanford

“What was that sound?
voices in my head
to make me doubt
to disturb my dreams
to call up ancient demons”

✍️ None Left a Note by Wry Welwood

“So many more exited abruptly without a word,
leaving black holes of pointless questions in our hearts.
All we know is that they suffered more than they told,
finally had enough, sought release.
We who tried to help them failed.”

✍️ Now I Know by GB Rogut

“Now I know
not all ghosts
spell doom.”

✍️ The Past by Poetic Therapy

“Those who run forward to me
Are actually turning their back-end
I teach only to those who give their ear to lend”

✍️ Frayed by Jeff Langley

“frayed state of love,
ragged plights of trust
getting away with it,
all messed up”

✍️ Familiar Notes by Tamara Naidoo

“Words hover in my throat
and out they pop
as I point two fingers
to push the specter back in”

✍️ Your Ghost And Me by Paroma Sen

“So, tell me now
How long before I can let you go?
Before I stop seeing your ghost
reflecting off every surface around me”

✍️ Future Ghosts of the Past by Lilie Kaizen

“Apathy and burnout
Silent killers
Sounds of a sick population
Dying from within
Central necrosis of a tumor
Who outgrew its blood”

✍️ The Poetic Ghost by Priyanka Srivastava

“Now that memories have become that ghost which I have learnt to carry with me, I let them become those raindrops which drench the pages when there are clouds in the sky.”

✍️ Forgotten, Forlorn by Indubala Kachhawa

“My lunatic loneliness surmised the specter to herald of amity
But like everyone else, this one turns his back in a jiffy
I am a forgotten, forlorn ghost of their past
they no more wish to recognize”

✍️ In Search of Lyndal by Carolyn Hastings

“Where are you Lyndal?

An apparition of our adolescence
Your existence now blurred surreal
Haunting still our memories
We query were you real”

✍️ My Words from the Forgotten Boulevard by Suntonu Bhadra

“a left-out shadow tried to murmur
my memory just couldn’t break the barrier”

Prompt Winners 😎

Both iPoetry and Paper Poetry publications received numerous submissions, and once again, we are thankful to our writers for participating in the joint prompt.

The fascinating stories, drawn emotions, and incredible words amazed us.

We have selected the winning content from each publication as the prompt winners.

Hence, I’m happy to announce that our editors in Paper Poetry have selected ‘None Left a Note’ by Wry Welwood as the winning piece for Paper Poetry.

Congratulations, Wry.

Let me congratulate Omy for the winning poetry content titled ‘The Worst Part’ for iPoetry publication.

Congratulations, Omy.

Let us give a big round of applause to both Wry and Omy for their incredible poems. If you have not explored their poetry yet, please do at your convenience.

👉 Currently, we are running the November prompt, ‘Milestones’ on Paper Poetry. Please explore and, if interested, submit your content accordingly.

Thank you, everyone, for your time. Stay safe; stay tuned!

--

--