22) The technological letdown

Eric Turner
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readApr 1, 2017

My Internet is out currently. Not sure why. There was no warning. It’s like a crime against humanity to not have access to the rest of everybody through certain technological avenues, ya know? I’m literally writing this on my phone, as if I was sending an emotional text rant. You know, the ones where you can tell someone is fuming and needs to get out everything in their cranium before you get a chance to speak?

Well, I can’t be completely mad, because it spawned an off-the-cuff subject for me.

Does anyone think that we’ve crossed that boundary and finally entered an age where we’d be screwed without technology?

My thoughts are certainly starting to float that way. Our face is no longer the point of contact for many people in our lives. Heck, we even talk on the phone much anymore. Even that technology is becoming dated.

We’re afraid to go places without our phones. At the very least, it can rescue us from awkward silences by helping us look busy while we try to level up one more time on candy crush (speaking of, anybody remember angry birds?).

I think I’d be lost without certain technologies, for sure. I think we condition part of our lives around entertainment that is dependent on technology.

So now I sit. Draining my cell phone data to bitch a little bit about technology letting me down. Such a first-world problem. Maybe I’ll learn a new song on guitar.

Until next time.

If you enjoyed this article, please hit the heart button. This allows more people to see it on medium. Thanks for making my day!

Follow Me!

The Vault

1 . 2 . 3 . 4 . 5 . 6 . 7 . 8 . 9 . 10 . 11 . 12 . 13 . 14 . 15 . 16 . 17 . 18 . 19 . 20 . 21

--

--

Eric Turner
100 Naked Words

Husband. Father. Friend. Social Worker. Life is messy. Come along for the ride! Also, check out Medium membership! https://medium.com/@eturn102/membership