Sharing Our Gifts

How Fourth Wave is warming and informing our world

Patsy Fergusson
Fourth Wave
7 min readNov 27, 2023

--

Photo by Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

I don’t really believe in astrology, but I still read my horoscope now and then. My preferred astrologer is Rob Bresny via his Free Will Astrology site because he’s profound. I often get horoscopes from him that I feel like quoting. As an Aquarius, here’s my latest:

I estimate this horoscope is worth $22,225. It has been made possible by my many years of disciplined meditations, extensive reading of holy texts, and an ever-growing devotion to astrology and my readers. But here’s the fun part: You can read these words for free! No cost at all! I will, however, ask you to do something for me in return. First, give your gifts joyously and generously in the coming weeks, holding nothing back. Second, don’t be in the least concerned about whether you will receive benefits in return for your gifts. Find the sweet spot where you love bestowing blessings for no other reason except this one: You are expressing your gratitude for the miraculous life you have been given.

It’s a fitting sentiment for the season, and for this newsletter, in which I’ll be bestowing the gifts of love, anger, and insight that have been offered from our bright and burgeoning cast of contributing writers. It’s been two months since our last newsletter, so there are many, MANY gifts. (No wonder I can never seem to get off my computer!)

I hope you’ll find time to open and savor a few.

Here’s what we’ve published on Fourth Wave since the last newsletter:

From StartledEgg
**
A Man Trying to Talk About Rape
* Dear Slut

** I put the stories I nominated for a boost in italics. Sadly, I’m only allowed to nominate 20 a month, and this month, I ran through my 20 very fast! If the math doesn’t add up, here’s why: Some nominations were accepted, and some declined. Some stories got boosted without my nomination, and some stories I nominated came from other publications, or were published before this period of time. Also, some of these stories will be nominated in the future! Since I haven’t got enough nominations to suit me, sometimes I must wait to open that gift.

--

--

Patsy Fergusson
Fourth Wave

Tree hugger. Tour guide. Top Writer. Feminist. Newly-baptized Bay swimmer. Editor of Fourth Wave. https://medium.com/fourth-wave