The Shovan Chronicles — Part 13

Sad Tidings

Moshe Forman
Lit Up
Published in
16 min readDec 13, 2018

--

Read Part: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 12

Rivek stepped away from the soldiers’ encampment and waited at the forest’s edge. A figure appeared. “The Piple are proving too resistant,” she said, “we cannot manipulate them as we thought.”

“It is of no importance,” replied Rivek, “we are gaining support without them, but we must stop them backing the King.”

“That will be easy,” she replied. “We will kill them.”

Rivek thought for a moment. “Yes, that would be for the best.”

Photo by Smit Patel on Unsplash

Quench and Wendy lay still on the bed, in a comforting embrace; their excursion into the Aura had left them frightened and exhausted.

“I was happy when we saw the tiger; it came to protect us,” said Wendy.

“A beautiful white tiger, like the one in your father’s zoo.”

“Yes, it’s always with my father; sometimes they seem one and the same.”

“You terrified me; you brought the black spikes.”

“When you entered the dream I felt strong; you brought the tiger.”

--

--

Moshe Forman
Lit Up

When I’m not a poet or novelist, I'm exploring Self, Food, Society and History. And when I'm not doing that, I'm a technical writer. www.mosheforman.com