List #8: 30 Skills We Need But Don’t Teach

30 Lists of 30 to Celebrate my 30th Birthday

Georgie Nightingall
5 min readAug 8, 2021
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

The What & Why Behind This Project:

This year I turn 30. And my gosh, I have been thinking about it a lot. I don’t know if it’s the pandemic, or the fact that this milestone is loaded with many societal expectations, but my mind has inundated me with reflections and memories from the past, with questions arising about my life choices and lesson learnt, about my expectations of being a human and about my desires for the future. And this combined with pandemic reflections has meant there has been a lot on my mind….🤔

I started writing a series of questions and lists of all the elements I wanted to capture and articulate. There were a lot, unsurprisingly; 30 years is a long time really! So I gave up on the 1 list idea that I normally write (30 reflections/lessons turning 30) and decided to write 30 lists.

30 Lists of 30, for my 30th Birthday.

Who are these lists for, you might wonder? I started writing reflections many years ago to get to know myself better. And when I shared these raw and real accounts with friends I discovered that what I wrote about my individual journey, touched upon something universally human. Beyond the masks and labels we wear is a messy, beautifully complex life, with highs and lows. And more similar to others than we might think.

So I share them in the hope that you too might feel something — intrigue, joy, resonance or maybe even difference — as you reflect on what it means to be a human. I recognise that my experiences are my own, that some come from a place of privilege and that they may not all be relatable or interesting to you. I know I can’t please everyone, so take what you can…(and let me know what lands!).

So, Back to Lists…

The Why Behind List #8: 30 Skills We Need But Don’t Teach

There is no user manual for being human, but I’ve spent much of the last decade+ building frameworks for and learning some key human skills that I use pretty much everyday in my life. Such useful skills that it baffles me as to why I was never taught them in my teens! Can we teach these skills to the next generation?

List #8: 30 Skills We Need But Don’t Teach

  1. How to budget, save & invest money
  2. How to understand the political system and so your vote is more informed
  3. How to understand the impact (positive and negative) of the food you eat and how to cook it
  4. How to have difficult conversations, give feedback, compassionately and assertively, whilst owning your behaviour
  5. How to sit in empathy with someone, without trying to solve their problems or give them advice
  6. How to feel your emotions fully including the perceived ‘negative’ emotions like sadness or anger, without judgement or shame
  7. How to deeply listen, read and understand others’ feelings verbally and non-verbally
  8. How optimise health and energy with sleep, exercise, diet and good boundaries
  9. How to become self-aware — understanding, interrogating and changing your beliefs and realising that the voice in your head is not actually you but just a narrative you’ve created about yourself
  10. How to learn anything (learning how to learn)
  11. How to focus your attention (remove distractions)and be smart in your productivity, not hard
  12. How to deal with rejections, set-back and change and not let them reinforce negative narratives about yourself
  13. How to grieve, and hold space for others who are grieving
  14. How to express and receive different forms of love
  15. How to slow down and notice more
  16. How to get to know all your sub-personalities (parts of yourself) and detach yourself from the one that talks the most / you identify with the most
  17. How to give children love and acceptance that isn’t conditional on them being good, doing well at school etc.
  18. How to adopt a curiosity mindset about everything including remaining curious about other perspectives without judgment, whilst also staying true to your own principles
  19. How to ask good questions — that allow others to discover something new, create new thinking and highlight faulty thinking
  20. How to speak in public with confidence (inc. storytelling) , so that you can share your voice and communicate your ideas to the world
  21. How to read and understand your body and look after it
  22. How to tap into and empower your creative self
  23. How to unlearn
  24. How to collaborate in teams
  25. How to understand your values
  26. How to cultivate good habits
  27. How to talk to anyone and cultivate meaningful relationships
  28. How to make good decisions, including identifying your biases and heuristics and the power of reflecting
  29. How to practice love and kindness (both for yourself and others)
  30. How to meditate

☕ If you enjoyed reading this list and want to support my writing I would love a coffee!

👉 https://www.buymeacoffee.com/30Listsof30 👈

Your support will help me fund my PhD starting in October 2021 at the School of Design Engineering, Imperial College, London. The subject: Human Connection & Conversation Design. This research lab > interactionfoundry.com

Want To Read More Lists?

I’m publishing one list every day in August (and will add the hyperlinks below).

  1. 30 Reasons Why I’m Writing 30 Lists of 30
  2. 30 Questions I’m Living Right Now
  3. 30 Ways To Have An Awesome Conversation
  4. 30 Risks I Took & What I Learnt
  5. 30 Ways to Create and Cultivate Community
  6. 30 Questions I Reflect on Every Saturday Morning
  7. 30 Essential Items I Pack Backpacking
  8. 30 Skills We Need But Don’t Teach
  9. 30 Things I Wasn’t That Grateful For But Am Now
  10. 30 Reflective Questions that Lead to Fascinating Conversations
  11. 30 Signs I am Most Definitely an Adult
  12. 30 Beliefs I Changed about Myself & Life
  13. 30 Games I’m Playing in Life
  14. 30 Confusing Messages I’ve Internalised About Who To Be & How to Live
  15. 30 Ways I’m Totally Imperfect
  16. 30 Considerations for Designing Meaningful Human Connection Experiences
  17. 30 Mundane Experiences That Can Actually Be Quite Magical
  18. 30 Words To Describe Elements of My Pandemic Experience
  19. 30 Things I’ve Learnt About Human Behaviour That Show Up Everywhere
  20. 30 Words I Love
  21. 30 Parts of Me
  22. 30 Principles I Live By
  23. 30 Lessons from 5 Years of Entrepreneurship and Creating
  24. 30 Health, Productivity, Creativity and Happiness Optimisation Experiments I’ve Explored And The Life Hacks that Resulted From Them
  25. 30 Things I am Proud of (Achieving) Before 30
  26. 30 Experiences (& Goals) For the Next 10-ish Years
  27. 30 Things I Need To Let Go As I Move Forward Into The Next Chapter
  28. 30 Journal Entries from the Last 20 Years
  29. 30 Lists That Didn’t Make it to the 30 Lists
  30. 30 Reflections Writing 30 Lists of 30

Follow me on Medium to read them.

Still Curious?!

💬 Watch my TEDx talk: Talking to Strangers: Having a Meaningful Conversation

📖 Read about some of my work recently published in Entrepreneur.com How to Become a Master at Talking to Strangers

✍️ Stay connected through Conversations With Georgie: The Home of My Thoughts as a Life-Long Learner. Curious. Deep. Exploratory. Real and Raw.

📧 Contact Me: Georgie@Triggerconversations.co.uk

--

--

Georgie Nightingall

Founder @ Trigger Conversations.co.uk | Engineering Human Connection Through the Lost Art of Conversation | Lifelong Learner