The Shovan Chronicles — Part 14

The Great Gathering

Moshe Forman
Lit Up

--

Copyright: Moshe Forman

Read Part: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 12 13

Wendy slumped forward on the Vesrinch. Quench held her to stop her falling. Her eyes had the desperate look of a lost child, passive, resigned, she did not speak.

“What can we do? Please help,” pleaded Quench.

“We are too far from the Meravian Forest,” said Unfrar, in a worried voice. “I will get us to a safer place.”

Wendy’s body was limp, Quench’s arms shook as he struggled to control his panic. “Wendy wake up, fight it.” He plunged deep into the Aura, going further than he had dared go before. He flew as if falling through a tunnel. He found Wendy, her light flickered dimly, she was cut, pierced by the shards. He brought the tiger, powerful, with its sharp teeth and long claws. The black crystal shimmered, reflecting light from an unseen sun. They dimmed. Wendy stirred, her light grew stronger. She caressed the tiger and looked at Quench. “You do not love me.” It was a confident, unflinching statement.

“But I do, I do,” implored Quench.

Quench came out of the Aura, he lent forward to see Wendy’s face. She was haggard, forlorn, mouth open, eyes gazing into the distance. Why did she mention love? he thought. We have never used that word before.

--

--

Moshe Forman
Lit Up

When I’m not a poet or novelist, I'm exploring Self, Food, Society and History. And when I'm not doing that, I'm a technical writer. www.mosheforman.com