52 Weeks of Giving

Kelli Mohr
2 min readJan 14, 2015

--

I want to use 2015 as an opportunity to give back more. I’m sure a lot of people say this at the beginning of the year, never to follow through. I want to be active in my pursuit to find people to help, ideas to support, dreams to build.

Like so many others I waited for a cause to land in my newsfeed. Even then it was a debate if I’d donate my time, money, or effort. I was only likely to donate if I was supporting a friend or loved one.

This year, I came up with an idea. I would donate $10 a week to a different cause. That simple. What is $10 a week to me? Let’s see…

2 Lattes, 1 Lunch, 1 Commute, 1 Cover Charge, 1 Adult Beverage

Things I could easily give up to help someone else.

By the end of the year, I would donate $520. And that’s only me…

If my friends got involved with the idea, think of how much more we as a tribe could give. The lives we can change. The good we could do.

I’m inviting you all, to take part in this journey with me. To match $10 to the cause I pick each week. Or to the ones that speak to you.

Follow the movement using #match10. I’d love to hear your ideas.

--

--

Kelli Mohr

Spend my days in the Cloud. Keep things simple and efficient. Software Engineer. DevOps Enthusiast. Agile Evangelist. Amateur farmer.