Orienteering mapping with LiDAR, smartphones and free tools

Greg Wilson
2 min readMar 29, 2017

--

I’m learning about making orienteering maps. I’ve made a series of articles describing some of the things I’ve learned and done.

You can treat this article is an index. I update it when I post a new article.

The Gossan Hill map project

Fundamentals

Working with LiDAR data

Producing the map with Open Orienteering Mapper

Working with Open Street Map data

Working with aerial photography

Fieldwork using a GPS smartphone

Other

Who is this series for?

You might be interested in this series of articles if you:

  • are a recreational orienteer
  • want a practical approach
  • prefer freely available data and software
  • have access to LiDAR data.

This series of articles probably isn’t for you if you:

  • are a mapping professional, since you already know what you’re doing
  • have access to commercial tools and data, since your facilities are better than mine
  • are seriously competitive about orienteering practices, since I’ll be taking too many shortcuts to satisfy you
  • love the technicalities of orienteering maps, since I’ll be taking a practical approach
  • want to know all about software and data licenses, since I am not a lawyer and won’t be going into that side of things
  • need to make maps in bulk, because I’m only interested in making one at a time
  • need help using a computer, since I’m not offering detailed guidance about installing software, managing files and folders, or using the command line
  • use an Apple or Linux computer, since I know nothing about those
  • are focused on course setting, since this series is about mapping.

--

--

Greg Wilson

Hopeless at orienteering, rubbish at flying radio controlled planes, but enjoys both activities anyway.