End of Eclectical Advent Calendar

Reflecting on this year’s emergent writing challenge

Jason Mesut
Eclectical
7 min readDec 24, 2023

--

And so this Eclectical Advent Calendar finally comes to an end. yes, I know, ‘Eclectical’ is an odd word. Shouldn’t it be ‘Eclectic’? Probably, but I quite like eclectical.

24 days of writing what emerges for me on the day. Mostly stream of conscious writing. Limited editing. Typos aplenty. Imperfect structures. Cheesy alliteration

For this final post I reflect on what I have learned from the process.

  • There’s always something to say
  • It feels better out than in
  • If it serves one person, that’s enough. Even if that one person is me.
  • I do this sort of thing better in a cafe within a timebox
  • I’m not sure what is in my head and in the world
  • It helps me, and it helps others

There’s always something to say

I knew I had a lot on my mind. And in my mind. But there’s also so much outside of myself that I have been inspired by. New external influences on the dots already in my past. Most of my posts were inspired by something happening that day, or the day before, or that week.

It feels better out than in

I speak to so many people that struggle to get their thoughts out in the world. Whether in talks, or in writing. I got over my initial fears long ago, but they regularly return. Ego is an enemy that can hold us back from sharing things that help others or help ourselves. It genuinely feels better out than in. For me at least.

If it serves one person, that’s enough. Even if that one person is me.

I’m not much of a journaler. If I was, I might not need to do this publicly. But for various validation, identity, and self-worth reasons, it helps me when I know that others might see. That they may connect and may find value. And it feels great when they do. But I have had to try to release the pressure on myself, to not be so dependent on likes and comments. Don’t get me wrong, I still get drawn in when I see a LinkedIn or Medium notification pop up on my phone. And I’m always intrigued who is engaging. But I had to tell myself that the numbers didn’t matter. This is mostly about me. And being as honest as I can be in the moment, with limited filters.

Sometimes, I’m surprised which things I’ve written have gotten more engagement. Sometimes the most interesting to me, get very little, and sometimes the most banal gets the most. I can put that down to LinkedIn algorithms, the effectiveness of my link-baity titles, or just timing. And then, I think, I have to let go. It doesn’t matter so much for now.

I do this sort of thing better in a cafe with a timebox

Most of these posts have been written in The Press Room in Twickenham. The coffee is decent, the wifi doesn’t work for me, and it’s near my office. Either first thing in the morning, or after lunch, I’d steal an hour to write the bulk of the posts in Hemingway. Before pulling into Medium, adding images and then quickly publishing once I could get online again.

I’ve wanted to write about the right meshing of work modes, personal profiles and environments for a while, but it didn’t come up this time. Maybe later. But what I will say is that I tend to be most comfortable doing this mode of work in a white noise filled environment, by myself, alone with others present. And with an Oat Flat White and a glass of water. Strange rituals. But the environment plus the <60 min timebox really works for me. At least for the core writing as thinking part.

I’m not sure what’s in my head and what’s in the world

Earlier this week I was in a conversation with Michael Johnston. Someone who has been reading a bunch of my posts. I raised something and prefaced it with ‘I don’t know if I have shared this publicly, but…’ and also had an interesting conversation with my coach, Samantha Soma, about the weird feeling I have had where I am unsure where my thoughts were. Either in my head. Or in the public domain. Or in both. Maybe it doesn’t matter. But I guess it relates to the act of externalisation. So important in design, in coaching, and in therapy. The act transforms your own relationship with the thought, memory, idea, or feeling. And it can also affect someone else’s. So you can discuss. So that together you can play with that externalisation.

It helps me, and it helps others

This feels like repetition, but even if it is, it demands emphasis. This process has helped me. And it has helped others.

It has helped me to get back into writing. After spending so much time procrastinating around non-writing activities relating to the book, it’s nice to just be free about externalising whatever emerges. It feels like a genuinely creative exercise for me, after many years where I feel like I am pushing others or being pulled myself through a manufactured process to make. I manufactured the pressure. But not the process.

It also helped me explore different sides of my identity. Of my thoughts. My interests. My experiences.

It has also helped me feel better about myself. To feel seen. And to know that I have helped others.

I have had various people comment on posts. Some surprising ones. Some people I know well and whose views I might place above others. Some people I don’t know at all.

I’ve also had people message me directly. People from my past. People I’ve never exchanged any communications with before. Not loads. But each one of them saying something about how something resonates, how it may have helped, or how they have appreciated me doing it for others.

This always means a lot. It wasn’t totally an act of performative validation. Just in some amount. But it helps to be seen, and know that you may normalise something for someone else. And help them feel more comforted.

The 23 previous posts

And so, what did I write about. I’m not sure I’ll do the list justice. Where’s ChatGPT when you need it?

  1. Seeking seren(dip)ity: The start of an advent calendar for 2023
  2. Slow motion multi-tasking for the creatively curious: An antidote to toxic niche narratives?
  3. The Sketchy First Draft: Embracing imperfections and early ideas in writing to increase momentum in making meaningful progress
  4. Monday Mood Management: Exploring ways to consciously manage mood at the start of the week
  5. The super vision of supervision: Musing on the value of group supervision for coaching and beyond
  6. The (potential) futility of futures work: A musing triggered by a meta chat on the futures of futures work earlier this week
  7. Graceful goodbyes and growth: Closing doors, opening opportunities, and feedback as fuel
  8. Exploring perceptions from multiple perspectives: Reflections on some simple ways to explore multiple perceptions from multiple perspectives on your self and others
  9. Exploring unrequited work relationships: The power and the fear of exploring dynamics between relationships at work
  10. Chasing dreams, meeting heroes and engineering future connections: Some reflections on my monthly Zoom calls with a bunch of blokes connecting to our youths and making atmospheric drum and bass together
  11. A meandering Monday: How a more open schedule led to me treating myself to a serendipiday
  12. Choose your illusion: Finding ways to reflect on your year that suit you
  13. Increasing your joyspan
  14. The magical messiness of humanity: Ink stains, vulnerability and the magical messiness of humans
  15. Framing research integration: How some recent framework critique sessions have stirred some thinking on integration of research work
  16. Balancing shyness and shame: Alcohol, blackouts, embarrassment and social anxieties
  17. Thank people while they’re still alive: Further reflections on thanking people each week on LinkedIn
  18. Four Cs of augmentation: Classes, characteristics, contexts and consequences
  19. Climbing other people’s mountains: Exploring the pursuit of career over your own inner challenges
  20. Lonely Leaders in London: Getting my ego out of my way, and finally sharing an idea for creating more belonging for one of the communities I hold dear
  21. Good things, dreams and changing the world around us: A scenic route through suburban business change and Star Wars pilates
  22. Nine years of running Resonant: Looking back at the setup, the highlights and some lowlights of running my own thing
  23. Music for the groupmind: Musings on using music for (positively) manipulating the minds of the many
  24. This one

99 images over 23 days

Some of the images I used over the 23 days. Some custom. Some classic. A few generated. And a few borrowed.

99 images

Now what?

Well, first things first. It’s Christmas Eve and I’m going to play some board games with the family. And hopefully make some music, before getting more food ready.

After that, I don’t know. I certainly can’t commit to a daily public post here. Maybe I’ll do some of the many ones I had originally mapped out. Or go and improve on some of those that emerged through the challenge. Or continue in the style of. Who knows? I’m not limiting myself for now.

This post is the last part of an advent calendar challenge I have set for myself. Writing and publishing one piece a day. Whatever emerges. Although sometimes I may work on an idea sparked on another day. An exercise in getting back into the writing groove. But also re-finding my voice. Lowering the barriers of my ego getting in the way of what might be valuable for others, or at least me.

You can check the other pieces here on the ‘Eclectical’ Medium publication.

I am a coach, a product-service strategy consultant, a community connector and so many other things. You can find out more about me, my many interests and how to connect them with yours here.

--

--

Jason Mesut
Eclectical

I help people and organizations navigate their uncertain futures. Through coaching, futures, design and innovation consulting.