Day 19 — Radical Change Requires Radical Change

Adam Dukes
4 min readJun 4, 2017

--

This is a LIVE case study where I am documenting my journey to becoming a highly paid marketing consultant by blogging everyday for 50 consecutive days. It’s called “50 Days to Freedom: My Journey to 5 Figures in 50 Days“. At the end of the post, you will find links to all the previous posts.

A bit redundant, huh?

A mentor of mine said that, and it has always stuck with me. Today’s post is going to be more of a personal post, and what has been going on in my life this week/past few months.

I am going to give a quick overview, and spare you the nitty gritty details.

You’ve probably noticed my workload has dropped off considerably from the previous couple weeks.

This is the first thing you read in the morning…

credit: giphy

Anywho…

I am writing this from my parents house in Palm Desert, California. My home is in Las Vegas. Things at home have not not been going well for awhile now. Last week, it was determined by Amanda, that I move out.

This caught me by surprise, and I was certainly not ready to move out. So I am currently staying with my folks here in Southern California for a couple weeks.

I am trying to coordinate a time to meet with her next weekend to bring the kids out here for a bit.

Like I said, this wasn’t planned, but we have discussed me moving out a couple times in the last few months.

Radical Change Requires Radical Change.

Adam, are you ok? Do you need a glass of water?

Took them to dinner last night

This is what the babysitter asked me earlier today, as I dropped off Ava & Ashton. I was crying uncontrollably, as I've never been away for them for more than a week.

They are with me everyday, so this is a HUGE adjustment for everyone, especially the 3 of us.

This was one of the hardest moments in my life. It was absolutely heart-breaking letting go of them, and I cried on the drive out to California a few times.

I know this is what is best for all involved, but it doesn’t make it any easier.

The plan, as of today, is to find a new place in Vegas, at the beginning of July.

Sometimes you need a change of scenery, a change of environment, a change of pace. I am fortunate (and extremely grateful) to have the opportunity to come stay here for a couple weeks.

I wanted to be raw, real & transparent in this case study, and give you a glimpse into what is going on with my personal life.

Your personal life has a massive impact on your business life.

Day #19 Breakdown

I sent ZERO cold emails this week. My focus was on personal issues, along with the 12–13 gym owners who have expressed interest in the last few weeks. It has been a lot of back & forth email, and have stopped reaching out to a few of the leads.

Yes, the fortune is in the follow up, but I draw a line when people go “cold”. It’s a judgement call, and sometimes a tough one to make.

I prefer to work with business owners who value my time, and are ready to invest in their business. I don’t have time to waste on weeks of emailing back and forth. I have really tried pushing to hop on the phone, and some have done that, most have not, and prefer email.

Day #19 Numbers

Emails Sent: 0

Sales Calls: 0

Facebook Posts: 1

Leads Generated: 0

Committed Trial Offers: 0

Action Plans/Proposals Sent Out: 0

Revenue Generated: $0

If you’re getting value from any of these posts, please share with a friend.

If you have comments and/or suggestions, please leave a comment below.

Last, but certainly not least: Thank you so much for reading, it means more than you know!

Follow along: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, Day 8, Day 9, Day 10, Day 11, Day 12, Day 13, Day 14, Day 15, Day 16, Day 17, Day 18

--

--

Adam Dukes

A stay-at-home-Dadpreneur, a marketing strategist, a cheeseburger connoisseur and a wastebucket full of useless sports knowledge.