100 Naked Words — Day 39

I Can’t Take it Any More

Reflections, Ripples and Ramblings of a Restless Mind

Aarish Shah
100 Naked Words

--

Photo Credit — Me! Lido di Camaiore, Tuscany

For Migraine Sufferers Everywhere

It’s like someone has tied a knot at the bottom of my neck. As if an invisible hand is gently but firmly pushing down on my skull, causing my spine to compact; I have a persistent urge to stretch and squeeze the dull, stiff pain away. But it never goes.

It’s like part of my head has been sabotaged, this pushing, prodding pressure that pulsates without respite. It pervades my consciousness, stops me from even attempting to think clearly.

Light is the enemy, noise its thuggish compatriot. Even the subtlest change in their presence is like a flash-bang to my overwhelmed senses. They are invaders, infidels in the holy land of my mind.

It is like my cranium is being cut short of breath, my brain is being water boarded. Like my soul is being denied entry across my own border.

I only feel the pain, its venomous sting piercing the back of my eyeballs. They are parched, raw and wretched.

I cannot dull it, I must endure it. I’ve been here too often before to hope otherwise.

There is only the sweet succour of silence and the deliverance of darkness.

About me: Citizen of the World. I love writing, photography, travelling, reading, learning and growing. Medium is another journey in my life, let’s see what sights we may see. Sign up below for more of my Musings, or contact me here.

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5 | Day 6 | Day 7 | Day 8 | Day 9 | Day 10 | Day 11 | Day 12 | Day 13 | Day 14 | Day 15 | Day 16 | Day 17 | Day 18 | Day 19 | Day 20 | Day 21 | Day 22 | Day 23 | Day 24 | Day 25 | Day 26 | Day 27 | Day 28 | Day 29 | Day 30 | Day 31 | Day 32 | Day 33 | Day 34 | Day 35 | Day 36 | Day 37 | Day 38

Don’t forget to support my work by hitting that little green heart!

--

--

Aarish Shah
100 Naked Words

Generalist | Thinker | Life Long Learner | Writer | Photographer