Day 20–How to Transform Your Life for $2.46

Adam Dukes
3 min readJun 5, 2017

--

This is a LIVE case study where I am documenting my journey to becoming a highly paid marketing consultant by blogging everyday for 50 consecutive days. It’s called “50 Days to Freedom: My Journey to 5 Figures in 50 Days“. At the end of the post, you will find links to all the previous posts.

My Mom loves thrift shopping.

We went to a couple thrift stores today, and I was only interested in the book section. Which doesn’t make much sense, because last night I bought a book I’ve been dying to read called Expert Secrets: The Underground Playbook for Finding Your Message, Building a Tribe, and Changing the World (You can get a FREE copy here — just pay shipping & handling)

In the past, I have found some phenomenal books at thrift stores, and am always looking to add to my collection.

Our first stop, I found 2 books that I have never heard of, but both had hundreds of 5 star reviews on Amazon.

The first book was called 177 Mental Toughness Secrets of the World Class: The Thought Processes, Habits and Philosophies of the Great Ones, 3rd Edition 3rd ed. Edition (click the link to purchase)

Anything to improve mental toughness, is a book I want to read. This is a list type book, so doesn’t necessarily have to be read in order. It’s a book to pick up and read a few secrets here and there.

Amazon: $14.01

Thrift Store: $0.49

The other book I bought at this store was called Verbal Judo: The Gentle Art of Persuasion (click the link to purchase)

I am a HUGE fan of persuasion, and it also talks about improving communication, which is an area I need help with.

Amazon: $10.58

Thrift Store: $0.49

We then went to another store, and I went right to the book section. In this store, I found 2 books that have been on my Amazon Wish List for awhile now.

The first book I found was: Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything (click the link to purchase). This is a book I have heard great things about for years, and excited to finally dive into it.

Amazon: $9.58

Thrift Store: $0.99

The last book, was one my Mom found. A book Tom Brady absolutely swears by, it’s called The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (click the link to purchase)

This is a book my Mom has read, and picked it out as my sister says it’s a life changing book. Without a doubt, this was the first book I was going to dive in.

Amazon: $7.29

Thrift Store: $0.49

In total, I picked up 4 books that have the power to transform my life for $2.46 (would have cost $41.46 if I purchased them on Amazon).

Books are the fastest shortcut to success, and the easiest way to transform your life — IF YOU IMPLEMENT THEM!

I know, a big “if”.

Day #20 Breakdown

I did a lot of emailing today to play catch up for not working too hard the last couple of days. Trying to schedule calls for this coming week.

I started reading The Four Agreements book, AND finished it today. Reading helps with business indirectly, but difficult to measure.

Day #20 Numbers

Emails Sent: 0

Sales Calls: 0

Facebook Posts: 3

Leads Generated: 0

Committed Trial Offers: 0

Action Plans/Proposals Sent Out: 0

Revenue Generated: $0

If you’re getting value from any of these posts, please share with a friend.

If you have comments and/or suggestions, please leave a comment below.

Last, but certainly not least: Thank you so much for reading, it means more than you know!

Follow along: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, Day 8, Day 9, Day 10, Day 11, Day 12, Day 13, Day 14, Day 15, Day 16, Day 17, Day 18, Day 19

--

--

Adam Dukes

A stay-at-home-Dadpreneur, a marketing strategist, a cheeseburger connoisseur and a wastebucket full of useless sports knowledge.