Day 23 — Don’t Have Unrealistic Expectations When Advertising on Facebook

Adam Dukes
3 min readJun 8, 2017

--

This is a LIVE case study where I am documenting my journey to becoming a highly paid marketing consultant by blogging everyday for 50 consecutive days. It’s called “50 Days to Freedom: My Journey to 5 Figures in 50 Days“. At the end of the post, you will find links to all the previous posts.

Escaping the Heat

My sister & I hiking

My sister, her girlfriend and myself escaped the desert heat for the mountains today.

We took a trip up to Idyllwild, where it was in the low 80s — about a 25 degree difference from what we were used to down in the desert.

They ate lunch, we had coffee, did some shopping and went for a 2 mile hike in the mountains.

It was a nice escape from the heat, and a break away from everything that I needed.

Sometimes getting out in nature is exactly what is needed.

Day #23 Breakdown

I have been having some issues (again) with the software I use to scrape business contact information. I bought this software in 2012, and it worked flawlessly. It was updated last fall and was optimistic about it, but it has not been consistent.

Currently, running a campaign for a CrossFit gym in Seattle. We launched the campaign last Friday, and not seeing the results I would have hoped for.

Then again, you must be patient with Facebook advertising. This is something I preach about to others, and sometimes need to look in the mirror and take a dose of my own advice.

Finding a successful Facebook advertising campaign takes time/testing/a lot of whiskey/kicking the cat :D

credit: giphy

Rarely, will you hit a homerun on your first campaign.

I have been running ads for 4+ years and would guesstimate that 75% of my ads STILL fail. It’s the 80/20 rule.

Most small business owners have unrealistic expectations when it comes to advertising on Facebook (or online for that matter). They hear of the success stories, but rarely hear about the many failures that person and/or business had before they struck FB gold.

Like anything worthwhile, it takes time.

Day #23 Numbers

Emails Sent: 25

Sales Calls: 0

Facebook Posts: 1

Leads Generated: 0

Committed Trial Offers: 0

Action Plans/Proposals Sent Out: 0

Revenue Generated: $0

If you’re getting value from any of these posts, please share with a friend.

If you have comments and/or suggestions, please leave a comment below.

Last, but certainly not least: Thank you so much for reading, it means more than you know!

Follow along: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, Day 8, Day 9, Day 10, Day 11, Day 12, Day 13, Day 14, Day 15, Day 16, Day 17, Day 18, Day 19, Day 20, Day 21, Day 22

--

--

Adam Dukes

A stay-at-home-Dadpreneur, a marketing strategist, a cheeseburger connoisseur and a wastebucket full of useless sports knowledge.