How to write an essay (additional homework from the course)

NATALIIA TOTKA
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readOct 28, 2016

One of the additional homework assignments I received this week was the following:

2. Look at the material on paragraph writing at aims.edu/student/online-writing-lab/process/body-exercise. Experiment with the template it describes in writing a paragraph.

This is my attempt to write smth (tell me what you think in comments, thx))

***

Because survival is the only path we have left.
We — Ukrainians need to learn how to carry on, get through and adapt to whatever bitter pill we have to swallow.

Our nation has been through the unimaginable and is still here, barely alive to fight another day.

This is true because people were given nothing, and had to make ends meet, because whatever you think you know probably isn’t true, it’s worse; because the price for gas blew the roof, because with my mom’s salary there’s barely anything one can afford; because some minister’s salary was raised to 40.000, which is too much for doing nothing and stealing; because we are scattered around the earth; because some of us are still in our hometowns, — trying, however we can.

I know cases of supposedly “better life” overseas. People who run away to get an idea of what their lives could be and I’m not an exception. I keep doing the same thing. So far, I survived there as well. Sometimes, it’s nostalgia that keeps me awake, but mostly the non-existent sense of belonging and understanding that this or that program I enrolled in won’t last.

Furthermore, I am aware of the difficulties for Non-EU residents abroad, mainly Europe. This path requires certain stamina and quiet a lot of adaptation skills taken from predecessors, people who’ve made it through worse somehow.

According to older generation, there’s always a path even if it’s a thorny one. Having talked to quite a couple of expats, I found at least a few certain ways to stay. But I wouldn’t have been me if I followed other people with different dreams than mine.

And while my survival led me to various European countries, trying to find my place under the sun, my people are slaying the way for themselves to just exist, to somehow live to see another day.

Previously

1234567891011111213141516171819202122232425262728293031323334353637

Thank you for reading,

xo

N@t

--

--